French Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Dee..Lish...Us!!!!! I made a batch of these to try them out before making them for dinner. I cut mine into Cottage Fries though. I left a few out after the first fry to try the double fry. The first ones were soo good though. Can't wait to try the second ones and will definitely be making these for dinner tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Awesome! My nieces were missing their mother's fries (she passed away last year) and they said it was delicious! I agree! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
WOW. These fries are incredible. The 2 minute blanching is one of the keys to make them perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This recipe is perfect! The only thing that I changed is I cut my potatoes Julianne style. They turned out deliciously crispy, almost just like at McDonald's! My hubby loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I followed the directions and they're the best fries I've ever had. The whole family loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Amazing fries!!!! No need to go out and get fast food fries after you've tried this recipe. I tried it today. I went with the cold water 1/3 cup sugar instead of the warm and had the time to let them soak for 2 hours. I cooked them in two batches, the first was cooked twice around 2 1/2 min each time and the second was cooked 5 min straight up. The first batch came out extremely crisp, had that perfect light brown color and tasted fantastic, the 2nd batch came out a bit lighter but were just as good, I had no preferences between the two.. I WILL make these again and again and keep them as a staple in my household for years to come. Thank you for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Made this with sloppy joes... perfect combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Such great fries! Have to get the oil hot hot hot! Then they will crisp up nicely! I blanch mine in the boiling sugar water first, and will try the second fry next time. It might be great to fry a big batch, then freeze what we don't need for the night and have our own frozen fries for quick meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bastrop, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
It worked for what I needed - something to fill a french fry craving when there were no frozen ones in the house. However, they were kind of soggy. They tasted good, if a little oddly sweet, but they seemed to get soggier the longer they cooked. I may try the ice cubes in the water, or the hot oil blanching suggested by others if I try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Surprising how wonderful these fries are! I highly recommend it and do not skip the sugar soak - I agree with other chef it is the difference in the crispiness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States