French Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Very yummy! These fries crisped up wonderfully, and with some seasoned salt, they are fantastic! Thanks, Lorelei!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I made two kinds of fries tonight to go with our fish dinner. These by far are "THE BEST" fries - homemade or otherwise! My family loved them!! Crispy outside-soft inside! Whenever I'm in the mood for "fried" fries - this is the recipe I'll use! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
Wonderful potatoes! My husband loved these too! Super easy to make. I used nature's seasoning for the seasoning and it was very good. 6 cups wasn't enough to cover the fries in my deep frier, so make sure you check to make sure they are covered before you start your timer. Thanks so much Lorelei!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESIGNSBYBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
Okay gang for those who think it's odd to soak them in warm water...well the warm water is merely to dissolve the sugar. After the sugar is dissolved I add some ice and then do the soaking. These fries are the best. I have baked these (spraying with pam & seasoning w/ garlic salt) as well as fried them and they are always a hit. Thanks Lorelei!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
My whole family really liked these fries. HOWEVER, for me they took forever and a day to cook. Fortunately I had horribly misjudged the time the entree was going to be done, so I was able to leave these in longer. Maybe 3x longer. BUT it could be that I had my potatoes cut much larger than the person who submitted this recipe did. So basically, the larger the cut, the longer the cooking time. The only ones that got crunchy were the little pieces, but that was ok. They really tasted like steakhouse fries. They were very good. My daughter (6 yr) has requested that I make these everynight. Ya right, like that's gonna happen. = )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
These were ok. Like another user stated, they took FOREVER to cook. Most of mine did not get crunchy either. I will probably just soak them in plain water next time. ***Update 8/16/2011 - made them again, I don't know what I did differently this time but they turned out wonderful. (I think I let them soak for a half an hour - maybe that was it? ) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
mmm! these needed to fry a long time and end up looking overcooked but they are DELICIOUS. even my picky boyfriend loved them. thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giftable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
These are very good. Soaking the potatoes in the sugar water adds a sweetness to the potatoes that is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This recipe was perfect! My french fries definitely turned out crispy and yummy! I used the Pampered Chef Ultimate Slice and Grate and used the julienne blade which made for skinny fries, but we like them that way! I think that the size of them helped in the crispiness of them. Make sure to salt immediately after they are done. I used a deep fryer and they were done in about 5-7 minutes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
they were gone in 5 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States