French Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Really good! My family liked these better than the frozen type. I took some other reviewers suggestions and fried 2 min. in 375 oil; allowed to cool for about 10 min. then put back in the fyer for an additional 5+ min. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victory Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I tried these last night.. great recipe! I soaked them for about an hour. Drained well, then layed them out on a towel while the oil heated (used Canola oil). I blanch fried them and it worked perfectly! Light, crispy fries. I didn't get an overly sweet taste.. just clean potato taste came through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenLotus77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
A lot of our fries were soggy and not very crispy. If I make these again, will turn the fryer down to 350 degrees. Served with spicy fry sauce from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These were good! I'm used to getting crunchy fries only from blanching and frying twice. They are delicious but they usually require more time than I am willing to dedicate to french fries. These were great--soak in the sugar water and drain and then fry...they get crispy quick and are ready by the time the burgers are done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Eden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This technique is truly amazing! I'm going to try it with hash browns and baked potato wedges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Way soggy. Needs to be fried at least twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cadee'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Great recipe. I was skeptical at first but greatly surprised when they turned out perfect. Even my kids loved them and they are teenagers who are very picky about their french fries. I tossed the fries with seasoning salt and pepper before frying. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
As a true french fry artist knows, to get them crispy, you need to cook them half way, take them out and let cool down, then plunge them in the rest of the way. Older potatoes work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Pretty good fries but be sure to cut the potatoes the correct size as the larger ones would not crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
These are sooo yummy!!! My husband is a french fry fanatic and he said these were probably the best he's ever tasted! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States