French Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I wanted this to work so badly. Recipe as written did not give me crunchy french fries. Recipe as modified by others (2 minutes in oil, then remove, then the final 5 minutes or so) also did not give me the french fry of my dreams. Could be my potatoes, could be operator error, not sure. I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These were good. somewhat tastier than regular cut potatoes deep fried. i will probably make these again. I made two batches one regular and one with nacho cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
My difference, I double fried mine, like Paula does, and I see from the reviews that Alton does also (I only recently started watching him) I also saw a tip in one of the reviews to use the salad spinner to drain the water. How clever! I forget about that little spinning wonder sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I fried them twice as other reviewers suggested and it worked great. My husband's comment was "these are impressive." Thanks for all the good tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
If you are looking for fries that taste like the street vendors or a steak sandwich place these are it. They are slightly crispy on the outside but very soft on the inside. Make sure to use the large "russet" potatoes as suggested. They are the best for baked potatoes and fries. The fries are actually quite easy to make to. I just fried them in my mini deep fryer one batch at a time. The timing is very precise to about 5-6 minutes per batch. Make sure to have a salad or something else, because these are hard to quit eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I have made these several times and they taste great. Fresh french fries are much better than anything at McDonalds! The kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandyR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Very good--I have been using this sugar/water formula since trying this. Like some other reviewers, I also fry twice because that is how I remember my grandmother and aunt making fries when I was young.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
These french fries taste just like New York Fries!! I like to spice them up with a little bit of paprika and cumin rather than salt! So yummy! I have made these over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darielmac

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My family loved these. Surprised that there is no sugary taste. Crisp on the outside. This is how french fries are done. Thanks Lorelei
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rookiecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Alta Loma, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Baked the fries at 350 for about 45 mins. sprayed with pam and sprinkled with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States