French Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Super bummed. Very soggy. We choked them down because we hate waste. So disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I have not tried this, but in the 60's I was a fry cooker at McDonalds. We would cut, wash, (3 times) and then blanch them. (325 degrees) After they were blanched, we would let them cool, then refry them at 375 degrees til golden brown. The secret was in washing them, and drying them. The bottom of our sinks were covered with starch, and thats what we tried to get rid of. After three washes, there was little or no starch left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I did the quick fry and then a second fry. Delicious. My husband and I both thought they were as good as Five Guys or better. I used red potatoes. My mother always soaked her french fries in ice water before frying to get them crispy. The sugar water lends a sweet flavor to go with lightly salted fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethel M. McMullen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I really liked the soaking in sugar water. I was able to cut & prepare these way ahead of time. And when fried, they came out crispy & good. I added some seasoning when they came out of fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Terrific. Customize seasoning to preference. I like to add chili powder and seasoning salt for something with a burst. But still great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Great recipe. Only changes I made were cooking canola oil on a skillet medium-high. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
The best fries I've ever had. I've tried making my own in the past on numerous occasions and they've never been as crisp as these. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moetsch
Living In: Poolville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is my go to recipe for homemade french fries. I usually soak in sugar water for at least 1/2 an hour or overnight in refrigerator (water should be clear) and then drain and absorb as much of the water on a reusable drying mat and allow to dry as much as possible. I keep one just for these fries. Always do a long fry (about 6-10 minutes depending on how thick your potatoes are cut- we prefer large wedges) and then just before you're ready to serve, refry till golden brown, about 2 minutes. not sure if it matters whether you do long or short fry first, but the long fry first makes most sense if you're doing fish AND chips. I've done both with great results. Prefrying the potatoes ahead of time helps speed up dinner time. Perfect and delicious every time! I cook for 5 hungry kids so anything I can do ahead helps. To save paper towel, line a large platter with folded newspaper under a of couple of pieces of paper towel. Also, a large cast iron pot for frying is best. You can sustain the temperature of the oil better and fry larger and fewer batches. For those wondering what to do with the leftover oil, let it cool, strain or pour into a covered container and store in the fridge for your next time you need to deep fry something. I find reused oil actually makes the food taste better and it browns the food better as well. I add fresh oil to top up because you will lose some each time you fry and you have to get rid of the brown bits which causes the oil to go rancid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I soaked mine in cold water to remove the starch. Fried twice (first to blanch, then to crisp) and skipped the sugar solution. Also, I only used 1 cup of vegetable oil. They turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States