French Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Made this with sloppy joes... perfect combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Such great fries! Have to get the oil hot hot hot! Then they will crisp up nicely! I blanch mine in the boiling sugar water first, and will try the second fry next time. It might be great to fry a big batch, then freeze what we don't need for the night and have our own frozen fries for quick meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bastrop, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
It worked for what I needed - something to fill a french fry craving when there were no frozen ones in the house. However, they were kind of soggy. They tasted good, if a little oddly sweet, but they seemed to get soggier the longer they cooked. I may try the ice cubes in the water, or the hot oil blanching suggested by others if I try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Surprising how wonderful these fries are! I highly recommend it and do not skip the sugar soak - I agree with other chef it is the difference in the crispiness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My 12 year old daughter made these and she loved them. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Dragged out the old Frydaddy the wife hasn't used in years. Perfection on the first try! Combined a couple tips from other reviewers to make the process go smooth and easy. Tossed the potatoes in the water and put the bowl in the refrig for about forty minutes and used a salad spinner to save on paper towels. Drained the finished product on a paper towels on top of newspaper. Thank you Lorelei.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
The kids loved these fries. I thought they could have been slightly crispier. But all in all I'm saving this one. I followed the directions exact also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Not crunchy at all and so greasy :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yakuza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I have tried endless times to make home made french fries and they never get close to crispy! This sugar trick definitely works and I also think you need to make sure the potatos are thoroughly dried with paper towels. We double fried them in the deep fryer which made them perfect! So many great tips on this site! Glad I am a member.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sakura
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
its kinda soggy so lightly fry the fries then dip in a seasoned batter and fry till golden ! yumm~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States