French Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Surprising how wonderful these fries are! I highly recommend it and do not skip the sugar soak - I agree with other chef it is the difference in the crispiness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My 12 year old daughter made these and she loved them. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Dragged out the old Frydaddy the wife hasn't used in years. Perfection on the first try! Combined a couple tips from other reviewers to make the process go smooth and easy. Tossed the potatoes in the water and put the bowl in the refrig for about forty minutes and used a salad spinner to save on paper towels. Drained the finished product on a paper towels on top of newspaper. Thank you Lorelei.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
The kids loved these fries. I thought they could have been slightly crispier. But all in all I'm saving this one. I followed the directions exact also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Not crunchy at all and so greasy :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yakuza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I have tried endless times to make home made french fries and they never get close to crispy! This sugar trick definitely works and I also think you need to make sure the potatos are thoroughly dried with paper towels. We double fried them in the deep fryer which made them perfect! So many great tips on this site! Glad I am a member.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sakura
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
its kinda soggy so lightly fry the fries then dip in a seasoned batter and fry till golden ! yumm~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is THE way to make french fries! I'm glad I found this cuz I got sick of serving soggy homemade fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Delicious. I had to make fries for more than 2 people so I doubled everything. Water sugar and potatoes. I soaked the potatoes for about 2 hours and then drained them and dried them a bit with a towel. I went with the hint of blanching them for a few minutes and then pulled them out of the oil. Once all the batches were done I could quickly get them crispy and brown. This took about 3 to 5 minutes per batch for the amount I Deep fried. They were so good my husband said that if there had been a five gallon pail full he would have still ate everything there. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I agree With another poster that the warm water is used to dissolve the sugar. I did this with one cup of warm water and then added the rest of the water as cold. I also put a layer of ice cubes over the potatoes as they were soaking. Then when it was time to take them out they were nice and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
These fries rock!! I had planned on making them last night, but after peeling, cutting and soaking in the sugar bath-our dining plans changed. So.... they held in the sugar bath in the fridge till tonight. Patted them dry, fried them up, salted them and polished them all off! I even greatly increased the amounts of potatoes but my family of 5 did not even leave a spud rubble! I am a believer in the sugar bath now! Thanks for a great recipe! (Oh, and I cut them quite thick-they were better than the county fair fries!) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States