French Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
How have I never known that fries should be soaked in cold water prior to frying? I stopped making homemade fries years ago cause they would always be soggy. I knew I was doing something wrong but had no idea what..till today. I soaked them in cold sugared water for 2 hours,dried then fried. They were perfectly crisp outside,perfectly golden brown, none burned and they were absolutely delicious.I will NEVER buy those frozen fries again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAJANCHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I followed directions to the T , and they were soggy in the end , disapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
They turn out great every time. I cook mine a lilttle longer bout 9 minutes though Second time i made them i didn't peel the potatoes. I just cut it up. They turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidbones
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I doubled this, since my family size is large. It was really a good, simple recipe! We could taste a bit of the sugar but it made them yummy. My family love them and ask for more! I will make this again. Thanks so much for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Ziegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
VERY tasty! You get a slight sugary taste (obviously), but with enough salt, you are good to go! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is the best recipe for french fries ever! They take some effort to make but they are well worth it. The sugar solution makes these fries sweet and delicious. I always sprinkle generously with cheese before serving - perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Good recipe--although the cooking time seemed a little short to me. At 5 or 6 minutes, these were still pretty "pale" in color. I fried mine for more like 8-9 minutes with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Amazing how much crispier they get in the sugar water solution. I made this for my family with beer battered fish, and the fresh cut fries really stole the show. My mom wanted more, and quickly so she ignored my advice about soaking the potatoes and threw them in the oil right after cutting. They turned out terribly soggy, and no where near as good as the first batch. Anyway, like others have pointed out, the fries do not have a noticably sweeter flavour, just a very crispy outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Making these right now and they are very good. I seasoned with seasoned salt as soon as they came out of the fryer. I think the key to frying anything is the right temp of the oil, using fresh oil and not overcrowding the pan. And I did fry these a bit longer than 6 minutes. The first batch came out kind of soggy even though they were cooked on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkharder73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I tried this with making homemade hashbrowns this morning. After chopping up the potatoes, I let them soak in the sugar water solution. By far the best fried potatoes I have ever had. I will be buying frozen potatoes NO more! Brown and crispy on the outside and soft on the inside! Perfect! Worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateskravings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States