French Dip Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Without the juice my meat was too dry, but the flavor of both the sauce and the meat was good. I used reduced sodium soy sauce and actually could have went for more salt to get it a little closer to restaurant. In my crock pot the amount of water I used was about 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This is the best french dip that I have ever made!! My whole family enjoyed it! I did not change a thing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This is awesome! I've made it many times over now and it has become a requested dish when I go somewhere. My hubby is allergic to garlic so I omit that and use a can of beef broth instead of the bouillon. I sear the roast in EVOO in another pan before putting in cooker and I do think this adds to the recipe. I cook the roast until it is tender enough to separate off the fat. I remove the whole roast, take off the fat then put the chunks of meat back in cooker and shred with fork. I let this cook another hour or two this way. Even though I use reduced sodium soy sauce and broth, if the juice is still too salty add some RAW cut potatoes, which absorbs much of the salt. I placed on Sara Lee Deli rolls, top with provolone cheese then broil a minute or two to make them just the right amount of crispy so the bread doesn't get soggy. This freezes well and the leftovers are just as good as fresh! (and I'm picky when it comes to leftovers) Thanks Gisele for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
A regular in my house. We use a smaller roast and cook for about 8-10 hours and don't use the bay leaf because of personal preferences. I have found that the strength of the broth is best when I use just under 2 cups of water. (Enough water to almost cover the roast is very vague.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
The family LOVED this! My eight year old said it was A.Maz.Ing. I didn't change a thing. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
These were not quite as flavorful as I wanted them to be, but it's a decent and easy base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I've made this twice now and it is absolutely excellent. My kids don't use the 'au jus' for dipping but either way the meat is succulent. We love provolone cheese and lots of horseradish on the roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is so easy and a family favorite! The rosemary makes it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessinthekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Oh so yummy! I wasn't sure I would like it when I tasted the beef alone, but the sammiches are wondamous! Hubby is scarfing it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Perfect! My husband and I loved this. I cooked mine on high, and it was done in just under 5 hours. I didnt have thyme, so left it out. Next time I will make sure to add that. Wouldnt change a thing, and I didnt find it too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States