French Dip Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This is the best recipe! I was out of French onion soup mix and so I was needing a recipe that didn't need it. I'm so glad I found this because I will never make a different recipe again! I did have to improvise on some of the ingredients because I didn't have exact plus I used some of the other reviewers advice and for these reason I'm giving it a 4 star instead of a 5. First I put salt pepper and garlic powder on the roast then browned it in olive oil. I moved that to the crockpot. Then I took the sauce ingredients and instead of mixing them in a bowl I mixed them in the pan I browned the meat in and got all the goodies left in the pan and then poured it in the crockpot. I also sliced p a half of onion and threw it in the crockpot as well. I didn't have the individual ingredients so I just used Italian Seasoning. Also I used Better Than Bullion instead of a bullion cube. I did 3 cups of water to 1tsp of base. I used the full amount of soy sauce and not reduced sodium and had no problem with it being too salty. Maybe because I used the Better than Bullioin instead of a cube.....I also didn't use bay leaves because I didn't have any. This turned out amazing and super tender! I didn't even have to cook it for the full 10 hours on low. It took about 8 hours instead. This will be my go to recipe from here on! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Much better than the other crock pot recipe on this site & a lot cheaper!!! I did reduce soy sauce by half, threw in mushrooms & onions . Served on Ciabatta rolls with melted provolone cheese. Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Perfect! I added twice the spices called for because we like spice, but would be great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
One of the best french dips and so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Followed directions exactly and it came out amazing! I couldn't afford a whole roast so I used 4lbs of steak instead and cooked for a little less time and it came out wonderfully! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murphy13

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
bouillon cubes have milk protien in them so this is not a true dairy free meal. but fantasic nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This is super easy, And My husband LOVED it, and so did the rest of the family! No alterations needed for this recipe only a few finishing touch additions. I added some provolone cheese to each sandwich. a good addition in my opinion, and next time I will grill up some onions to go on the sandwiches as well. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
made this for the Makk Boys but left out the rosemary. it was sensational! Even my cat was crying to get at it! Used Sargento Provolone/Mozerrella cheese with it that was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This was really good though we thought the rosemary was a bit strong. The only change I made was I added a can of beef consomme in place of some of the water to give it a richer beef flavor. Served on hot french rolls with a slice of Provolone cheese and served with a Ramen Broccoli salad. Loved the fact that I could prepare it without heating up the kitchen during these hot summer days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Made this recipe for dinner today. It was amazing. I added a second bouillon cube because I wanted a stronger beef taste. If was perfect. I don't know what other people where complaining about it being to salty. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States