French Dip Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
We liked this, only thing we changed was to use one carton beef broth instead of bouillon. I had to cook my 6 lb rump roast for 8 hours on high to tenderize it, perhaps 12-18 hrs on low would have been even better? I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Used recommended meat and almost all of the seasoning. Not too salty - but did not like density of meat. Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I have been making this exact recipe for years, mostly for parties/picnic's. Everyone always loves it and I have already had requests by some people to take the broth home so they could make soup! I usually serve creamy horseradish as a condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Easy and Yummy. Followed recipe exactly (except 1/8 tsp ground pepper instead of peppercorns for the full recipe size).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Super easy recipe with great results. I used a top round roast and trimmed the fat off before cooking. The meat still had a really good flavor w/o a lot of fat. The only drawback is it will be drier than some cuts I suspect, but that is what the broth is for. :) We toasted the bread in the oven at 375 for about 5-10 minutes before making the sandwiches, but this isn't necessary. The broth had a nice flavor, but not overpowering for most in my opinion. I am trying this again with hot pepper cheese and maybe a bit of dry seasoning for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyclingngrilling
Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Based on the other reviews I thought this was going to be quite salty. I made it as stated, and actually found it needed a little more salt. Not entirely sure it's my style but it was exactly what I expected and very easy to make. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
very good & will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcalderon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This recipe is extremely easy, and my family loved it!! Instead of French rolls, I bought Caprese bread. I put the meat and some provolone cheese and made Panini sandwiches. These also turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Delicious! Sauce was perfect for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This is the best recipe! I was out of French onion soup mix and so I was needing a recipe that didn't need it. I'm so glad I found this because I will never make a different recipe again! I did have to improvise on some of the ingredients because I didn't have exact plus I used some of the other reviewers advice and for these reason I'm giving it a 4 star instead of a 5. First I put salt pepper and garlic powder on the roast then browned it in olive oil. I moved that to the crockpot. Then I took the sauce ingredients and instead of mixing them in a bowl I mixed them in the pan I browned the meat in and got all the goodies left in the pan and then poured it in the crockpot. I also sliced p a half of onion and threw it in the crockpot as well. I didn't have the individual ingredients so I just used Italian Seasoning. Also I used Better Than Bullion instead of a bullion cube. I did 3 cups of water to 1tsp of base. I used the full amount of soy sauce and not reduced sodium and had no problem with it being too salty. Maybe because I used the Better than Bullioin instead of a cube.....I also didn't use bay leaves because I didn't have any. This turned out amazing and super tender! I didn't even have to cook it for the full 10 hours on low. It took about 8 hours instead. This will be my go to recipe from here on! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States