French Dip Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Kraig
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Made this recipe last night. The meat flavor with the soy sauce, thyme, rosemary, and bay leaf, was a refreshing change to most french dips that are made with just au jus mix or french onion soup. And yes tweaked it a little. I used a reduced sodium beef base called "Better than Bouillon" and a low sodium Soy Sauce. I also put the meat on fresh baked hoagie rolls instead of french bread. Since I like my French dips "loaded", I grilled some onions, peppers, mushrooms and topped the sandwich with the veggies, added a slice of provolone, and toasted the french dip in a oven to warm the bread and melt the cheese. All in all, the recipe made the meat and dip taste great. Thanks for sharing Giselle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kraig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: American Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Chubbuck, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Made this last night and OhMyGosh was it Good! I am a food dipper and this recipe will be added to my family's rotation of favorite foods! The only things I did differently was, I only used 1/4 of a cup of soy sauce and I Caramelized some onions to put on my sandwiches, made up my sandwiches with meat, onions, and shredded mozzarella cheese. Then threw them in the oven on 450 till the cheese was just melted. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
not a lot of flavor, and the dipping sauce just tastes like oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I thought there was too much rosemary, but my kids loved it. The meat texture was a little strange, but tasted good. I would make it again, it was so simple and it was eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
A huge hit! My family cobbled this up! I have a small family so I decreased the size of the roast to 2 1/2 lbs, but I left the other ingredients the same. The meat was eaten straight away on fresh baked sub rolls, and there was no left over meat. However, I had lots of the broth left over, so I packed it up and will use it in recipes calling for beef stock. Thank you so much for this recipe! This is a definite do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is one for the books! My husband and I both really enjoyed this. TIP: I lost the bay leaves I purchased at the grocery (yeah, I know :) and it was still just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is so good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
We liked this, only thing we changed was to use one carton beef broth instead of bouillon. I had to cook my 6 lb rump roast for 8 hours on high to tenderize it, perhaps 12-18 hrs on low would have been even better? I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Used recommended meat and almost all of the seasoning. Not too salty - but did not like density of meat. Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Kasper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States