French Dip Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Love this Recipe! Super Easy!! Just throw it in before work and have a delicious meal waiting for you when you get home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Very disappointed with recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
ONE OF THE BEST MEALS EVER! It's perfect as written! The meat comes out so tender and full of flavor. The crunchy French bread is the perfect compliment to the texture of the tender meat. We had it with sauteed peppers and onions and put provolone cheese on the sandwich. WE WILL BE MAKING THIS AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN!!!! LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I've used this recipe and other's similar and always had great results. Having used various cuts of beef, I've found that a chuck roast is my favorite. The key ingredients are soy and either beef bouillon or dry onion soup mix which can be combined with your other favorite spices. 8 hrs on low in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Good...but GREAT the next day! My meat didn't fall apart it stayed in a large hunk so I just sliced it and put it on a french baguette with Provolone and Horseradish sauce. The leftovers were much tastier and the meat softened up even more. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I used a roast half the size of the one in the recipe but used the same amount of liquid. After 10 hours, there was no liquid left at all -- just enough to wet the beef once I shredded it. What's up with that? How do you get any liquid out of 1/2 cup of soy sauce. Maybe the beef I used wasn't fatty enough to produce anything else. But it was so unbelievably salty, we could barely eat it. My kids love salt and both of them commented on how over-salted it was. There you have it. Just my opinion. I agree with ALLICAT2U -- definitely need to add a bunch of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Super easy!! Very flavorful au !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
made this yesterday and it was very good, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
It's 10PM EST and I just started to make dinner for tomorrow! I'm using a bottom round roast because it was on sale when I went out yesterday to buy the beef (also, if you add this recipe to your shopping list, it says bottom round). My roast is 2-1/2 lbs and at first, I was going to bump the recipe down to 6 servings, but when I needed 5/8 of a bullion, and 5/8 tsp of the seasoninga, I just kept it as is. I followed the recipe almost exactly - my only changes besides the size of the roast were I'm using minced garlic instead of powdered (it just has a much better flavor than powdered) and I spread some of the seasonings, minced garlic, and a bay leaf on top of the bit of the roast that isn't covered with the broth and two more leaves are floating around. I'll be serving this tomorrow night on regular Philly Amaroso hoagie rolls with provolone cheese. After my husband and I have dinner, I'll finish my review! It already smells delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Awesome recipe! I already have it written out and saved to my keeper recipe book :) Things I did differently were: I didn't bother with the bay leaf. I used fresh ground pepper (3 pinches). I used reduced sodium soy sauce and still found it to be slightly salty. For the cut of meat, I used an English roast ( one of my favorites for my slow cooker, as they always come out tender!) And instead of bread I used the Orlando brand hoagie buns. These buns toasted with the meat and some provolone cheese is just wonderful, very flavorful, the au jus was good but I think I may add something more to it for better flavoring next time. Definitely worth the time! And it makes your house smell good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States