French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I make this every week. I double the recipe, but use 2 cups flour and 3 cups milk (remove 1 cup liquid). This allows me to use it easily for both savory and French style. This is the BIG secret to the batter working beautifully...for savory crepes you should let the batter sit one day. For French it is perfect in two days of sitting. The sitting allows the flour to completely dissolve and mix in with the other ingredients. Then...you can get a perfect texture without any misery. The other thing VERY important is the grill. It has to cook evenly and hot. I use a Tibos grill. Last thing, this is another big secret...I use 1 3/4 white flour and 1/4 wheat. This gives it a really lovely texture! I never thought I could get this right and can't believe I make them almost every day now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninon Nickerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Fantastique!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela R Cox Breeden
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Just made my first crepe , turned out perfectly, I was in Paris last year and fell in love with this delicious food . Your recipe was spot on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephs
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
This was really easy to follow and the crepes turned out delicious! We made ours sweet and added vanilla extract like other's suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
just made this recipe and it is delicious, even without filling will be keeping this recipe as my own and will be freezing some for my sons breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I thought this was a great recipe. I had a little trouble with getting a nice shape so I decided to make them the size of my pan, worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
perfect for all purposes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maged George Nassim
Living In: Giza, Al-Jizah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This could be a good recipe, but as some reviewers have noted already, the proportions are wrong. It should be (1) cup of milk not (2). I made some sugar substitutes and it was perfect. I put 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup of whey, and a tablespoon of maple syrup and vanilla into the milk and egg liquids. You can thin this out with a little milk, but it doesn't need a whole 2 cups. We put in fresh compote and requeson; peanut butter n dark chocolate; swiss cheese, tomato n ham in another. If you don't want sweet crepes just put in 1/4 cup or less of sugar and they balance great with salty innards. Blessed kitchens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Delish and light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Very good, easy and no problems except that I put to much butter in pan, oopsy. I melted orange marmalade and added cointreau for topping yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States