French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Nice and light - Easy to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Not the best. Batter is too thin. It was more difficult to get the batter to roll properly across the pan and resulted in crepes with cripsy edges, as the batter would settle to the center before setting. I even tried allowing the batter to remain in the refrigerator over night to allow the gluten to develop... still not successful. Also, 1t. sugar does not lend a noticable sweet flavor to the crepe, it only lends to premature browning. Crepes should be pale, thin, tender, with a smooth even surface. I'll just have to look harder for my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
Although this is not the simpliest of recipes, it definately the best so far. I served it to my wife without anything topping on it all, and she loved it. That was the proof that I was looking for in a good crepe. I believe the added eggs and the use of butter makes all the differnce. Be sure to follow the instructions and your will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
398 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
They were really good! My sister and her friend put boisenberry jam and yogurt in them, and although it sounds sort of unusual, it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I tried to make this recipe with out checking if I had milk. I didn't have milk. I did have silk (soy milk) so I tried it. and it worked great! I thinned it out a bit by adding a little extra water to make it easier to roll. My nephues loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
great! I use these to make Blintzes with a filling of ricotta, cream cheese, cinnamon, powdered sugar and orange zest. I top them with a hot fresh strawberries, sour cream and whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
These tasted much like crepes. I don't think they were that special, but they were good. I've not had anything better, but I wasn't really impressed. served their purpose, pretty easy. (don't try 1/4 this recipe. It doesn't work so well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santaquin, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
These are the first crepes I ever made, and they were delicious! They did get a little crispy on the edges, but I liked the added texture. I stuff them with scrambled eggs and some veggies and cheese, and top lightly with hollandaise sauce. Very hearty breakfast. Also cook them up early, they keep very well in the frig!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
I love making this recipe. I fill them with fresh fruit and chocolate sauce with a dash of icing sugar for a treat or melted havarti, shaved chicken and maple syrup for breakfast. mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Loved it. simple recipe and incredibly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States