French Country Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I loved this. I really liked leaving the yeast mixture overnight - I am sometimes so impatient to start the recipe that I don't let it proof properly. The combination of bread flour and wheat flour was superb. I used my bread machine for the kneading and rising steps, and ended up with two perfect loaves. Thanks so much, Stephen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I'm only halfway through this recipe (waiting for the first rise), but so far I love it! The proportions of ingredients are perfect and everything is going exactly as indicated. I'm a novice bread baker (this is only my second attempt at bread) so I'm very excited. I'll write again when I taste it, but I'm expecting it to be just what I'm looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
Really yummy, my family loved it! Reminded me of the bread one of my favorite restaurants serve. Really easy to make and looks lovely after it is baked not to mention the great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
What a wonderful bread. I once used a sourdough starter instead of the overnite version and that worked very well too. Crispy outside and very light and fluffy inside, while still hearty thanks to the whole wheat. I've also tried adding wheat bran and found that even tastier. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I tried this bread and I love it, it's the best one I've tried so far! I loved how you let some of dough sit overnight. I had no problem rising the bread, in fact it wouldn't stop rising, I didn't even have to let in finish the alotted rise time and it still turned out great. I used unbleached white flour instead of the others and added a little honey and it is wonderful. My son accidentally slammed the oven door shut when I had just put the bread in the oven to bake, and this is a very hearty dough because it didn't sink in with the force of that slam, most bread I've worked with usually does at the slightest wrong movement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie,AR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brree
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Lots of fun to make! Although this was my first time making bread by following the instructions I was able to make great tasting bread. I added a tablespoon of sugar, more salt. Just before cooking I lightly covered the tops with the mixture of an egg yolk (+ 1tablespoon water) to get a crunchy crust. In addition, instead of 1/2 wheat I used 2 cups white whole wheat flour that I made on a VitaMix blender. Because of the wheat it came out tighter but great tasting and looking. Pictures will be uploaded. My picky hubby and kids all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This makes excellent, basic bread. I use a variety of grains in the starter, usually rye, whole wheat, and some rolled oats. I also throw all the yeast in. It doesn't seem to make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I am giving this bread recipe 5 stars because that is all that is allowed. I made this recipe once and couldn't remember the name "French Country Bread". I am happy that I could find it again because I have to take bread to our ladies gathering tomorrow and this one is perfect. This time I added it to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I really enjoyed this bread. It has a nice mild sourdough-y flavor to it. I've never worked with a starter before- it was fun. In addition to the one cup of whole wheat, I used one cup of King Arthur White whole wheat flour. This rose so nicely and was pretty easy to work with. I was going to do an eggwash but I forgot, so after they came out of the oven I brushed them with melted butter. I also increased the salt to 1.5 TBS like LadyJapPee. Great idea! Perfect. Had this for dinner with Potato and Cheddar Soup. The kids loved this bread- they couldn't stay away from it before dinner! I made one round loaf and one regular loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was my first time making a yeast bread, and it turned out great! I fretted over the amount of flour needed - I ended up needing at least 2 extra cups. I used all white flour as I had no wheat on hand, and it tastes great, just like bread from a nice restaurant. I brushed the tops with melted butter and sprinkled on some wheat germ for a nice pretty effect. Overall my first shot was pretty great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States