French Country Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
What a wonderful bread. I once used a sourdough starter instead of the overnite version and that worked very well too. Crispy outside and very light and fluffy inside, while still hearty thanks to the whole wheat. I've also tried adding wheat bran and found that even tastier. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
Really yummy, my family loved it! Reminded me of the bread one of my favorite restaurants serve. Really easy to make and looks lovely after it is baked not to mention the great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I'm only halfway through this recipe (waiting for the first rise), but so far I love it! The proportions of ingredients are perfect and everything is going exactly as indicated. I'm a novice bread baker (this is only my second attempt at bread) so I'm very excited. I'll write again when I taste it, but I'm expecting it to be just what I'm looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
It was all right, but I didn't think that it had much taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDSSUNRAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
Very easy to make. The starter method does give additional lift and flavor. I added 1 Tablespoon of honey because my kids are fussy, it doesn't really affect the flavor. Great as toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
The bread had a great crumb and is really moist. Unfortunately it had absolutely no flavor, which I found out after baking the first loaf. For the second loaf, I tried to remedy it by brushing the unbaked loaf with a salt solution then sprinkling the top of the bread with kosher salt. This gave it some flavor and supported toppings well. If you're looking for a good everyday bread, add some salt to the recipe and go with this one. But if you are looking for a French pain levain, or that bread you had in that brasserie in Dijon, you will be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Very good. I used my sweet sourdough starter mixed with 1 c flour and let sit overnight instead of the starter as written. It rose very nicely and has a nice taste and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I loved this. I really liked leaving the yeast mixture overnight - I am sometimes so impatient to start the recipe that I don't let it proof properly. The combination of bread flour and wheat flour was superb. I used my bread machine for the kneading and rising steps, and ended up with two perfect loaves. Thanks so much, Stephen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This bread is delicious with great texture... After reading reviews, I upped the salt to 2.5 tablespoons, and I baked them in two 8 inch round cake pans. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This was a new experience for me as I've never made bread wth a starter before. I did let the dough rise for much longer than stated on the frst rising about 2 hours. We all enjoyed this with garlic butter also from this site. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States