French Coconut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Glynis Boyd Hughes
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made this for the first time this Thanksgiving. My buttermilk had spoiled so I made my own?? This pie is sooo easy to make and tastes sooo decadent, like it took hours!!! This is now a Hughes Family favorite??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glynis Boyd Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
My husband and I loved it!! It's good warm or cold. I don't think it's as rich as pecan pie, not as strong of a coconut taste as in a coconut cream pie, but just really nice. I wonder what it would be like with some German chocolate chips in it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I made these pies yesterday, and I have to say it is probably the best pie I have ever made. I agree, adding chocolate chips would be wonderful and a graham cracker crust would also work wonderfully. If traditional pecan pie is too sweet for you, this pie is a remarkable alternative for the pecan lover. This pie goes straight to the top of my Thanksgiving menu from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I didn't have buttermilk, so decided to try it with coconut milk instead and less sugar. It's so good! Creamy, coconutty deliciousness. Will defo make again and will try with choc chips next time as many reviewers suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is a great recipe ... yummy. Thanks so much Shirley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Fabulous! I did slightly decrease the amount of sugar and added an extra egg, but this pie was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark & Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Freaking awesome. After reading the reviews- here's what I did: added a splash of vanilla and a handful of mini chocolate chips. I only did 2 cups of sugar. The amount of coconut is just right. I cooked it up in 8" pies- set up very nicely after the 45 min cook time. The chocolate chips really add a ton to this pie. My SIL said it reminded her of an Almond Joy bar. What I will do in the future- add even more chocolate chips. I will try a half cup more pecans, and maybe try toasting them ligtly before adding them to the mix. They get lost in the coconut and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is a yummy pie! I did add a little more coconut and a few drops of vanilla extract for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I have been making this pie for years with just a few changes and it is always a favorite and highly requested at family gatherings. I add 2 teaspoons vanilla, only use 2 cups sugar and up the coconut to 2 cups. I have made with and without pecans and it is great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was very good. I did cut the sugar back to 2 cups, and will try cutting it to 1-3/4 cups next time, as it was still a little too sweet, and I'd like the tangy flavor of the buttermilk to be a subtle background note. (Remember, the coconut is also sweetened). I also added a teaspoon of vanilla. It was a nice, light dessert, and I will definitely make it again. I used Trader Joe's frozen pie crusts with this and they were the best pre-made pie crusts I've ever found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States