French Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Honestly, I wasn't going to rate this one, because I did t have all the ingredients, so I substituted! (When a pregnant lady has a craving, she'll try anything!) even though I subsist used oil for the butter and used slightly less chocolate (it was all I had in the house), it came out wonderful! Not as dense (for lack of the butter) but almost fluffy but with an excellent flavor. Next time I want to try it with all the right ingredients! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Not at all impressed with this. Easy enough to make, but I think it's quite bland. This is more like a brownie than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fatneko
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is so good! I am not a big fan of chocolate cake, but I love this one. I did use bitter sweet chocolate chips instead semi-sweet. I put whipped cream and raspberries on top. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatneko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
One word.......heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I have made this cake three times now and even though the second and third ones never looked as good as the first, they were all delicious. My third cake looked like a sunken soufflé, and even the Chocolate Ganache recipe I poured over it couldn't hide its' sadness, but it was a big hit with everyone who ate it. The perfect chocolate fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This was as close to the chocolate cake I ate in Paris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
my boyfriend is from france and this was a huge hit! i cant wait to make this for his family when they come to visit us. i added 9 ounces of semi sweet chocolate and 1 ounce of dark choocolate. as well i added some coco powder to the flour 1 table spoon. i added my own glaze ontop. will make again!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sama 24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Turned out perfectly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I did not add cream of tartar, because I do not keep it on hand. I added a bit a baking powder to keep it from sinking and help it rise better while baking. Cream of Tartar, is to help stabilize the egg whites. I was reading substitutes for this product, so in the future I can add a product that does the same thing. Salt is not a substitute for cream of tartar, lemon juice or vinegar, may be added as a substitute to the egg whites to help stabilize them. Substitute lemon juice or vinegar for cream of tartar in your recipes at a ratio of 3 to 1. 1 dash cream of tartar would be 3 dashes or drops, I suppose would be the liquid equivalent of a dash, of either lemon juice or vinegar. It should not be enough, with only several drops to flavor the product but only stabilize your egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made this for our Valentine's Dessert tonight. Oh. My. God. AMAZING! I thought it sounded like a lot of work when I first read the instructions, but it was actually really quick and easy! I cooked mine in a flan pan instead of the spring-form, so it cooked in about 45 mins. I covered it with a half batch of chocolate ganache (1/2 cup good quality semi sweet chocolate chips melted with 1/2 cup whipping cream and a splash of real vanilla) I'm for sure adding this to my list of favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States