French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Use all pork for truly authetic French Canadian flavor. You can fix the filling one day and serve the tourtiere the next day. Letting the filling sit over night really lets the spices flavor the filling. Update: I have found that it gets better the day after. So prepare it in advance and reheat if you have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
this is a great recipe. although you should cut back on the salt. also try adding 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. if you don't like the fat in ground pork, after cooking allow to cool in the fridge and take off fat, before spooning into pie crust. i've been making tourtiere, since i could help in the kitchen, making up to 12 or more during xmas. they make for great gifts during the holiday season. but save one for the tail gate party during superbow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
My husband is French Canadian and grew up eating pork pies...he says this is the BEST he has ever eaten! (even better than his sister's!!) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
Mmm, delicious. Made this for Christmas and it was a big hit. The only thing I noticed was that it needed more spice, but that could just be me, or my spices could have been old. Adjusted it by adding 3x the amount of spice, and added a bit of cinnamon too. Tastes just like my mom's (except she makes her crust, and I bought Tenderflake ones).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA COLE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This recipe totally rocks!!!! My family and I totally loved it. It is a delicious change of pace. I am not much into making piecrusts and generally dont care to do so, but I absolutely HATE store bought ones. Reluctantly I made this piecrust and decided to use real LARD that I had rendered from a hog that we butchered in the back yard (yes people still do that) I have to say, it made the most awesome combination. A real Lard piecrust and the spices that are called for in the meat.....OMGosh, I thought I was in HEAVEN!!! My advise...dont leave out any of the spices that are called for and make your piecrust with real lard and you are in for a superior treat!!!! I have even made shephards pie from the meat portion of this recipe and that turned out awesome as well. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I made this for my family last weekend. It was a huge hit! I had taken some of the others advice and lessened the salt and doubled the spices. It was great...I am currently making more now as everyone wants to have them for Christmas. They all thought I had found Grandmas recipe from the 1940's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Hi, I am French Canadian and my mom always put 1/3 pork, 1/3 veal and 1/3 beef.... this has to much salt and shouldn't have to put water... my mom put a mash potatoe to reduce the liquid and to bind everything together...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bellepoupee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This recipe is delicous and so easy to make. I grew up having tourtiere at Christmas (my Nanna is french canadain) and it was such a treat having it Christmas Eve!!. I would add an egg to help with binding the meat. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
I FOUND THAT THERE WAS TOO MUCH SALT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Fabulous! Tasted exactly like my Quebecoise best friend made for me at her home in Quebec
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States