French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This was so good. I brushed egg on top of the crust. It tasted nice and buttery. I could taste all the seasonings I put in. Will definetely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
My family liked it okay...I felt cool making "French" food! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Yum! And a note to TCCBABY: a meat pie with veggies as you suggested would not be a French Canadian Tourtiere. Good luck in your quest for a meat pie that is not a toutiere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
never making this kind of pie,I found this one was very easy to follow and make,I must say the smells in the itchen had everyone standing by with fork and knife,and yes it tasted just a good as it smelled I do remember having this back when I was young and yummy now I have a great recipe to make and enjoy this will now become a part of my family christmas thankyou so much for a great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This was delicious. I used 4 cloves of garlic and upped the sage to 1/2 tsp. It was so good, everyone went for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Fabulous! Tasted exactly like my Quebecoise best friend made for me at her home in Quebec
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Use all pork for truly authetic French Canadian flavor. You can fix the filling one day and serve the tourtiere the next day. Letting the filling sit over night really lets the spices flavor the filling. Update: I have found that it gets better the day after. So prepare it in advance and reheat if you have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
My dad is from Quebec and knows his meat pies. I used only pork - no beef(real tourtiere uses only pork according to dad) and increased the sage to 1/2 tsp. and it turned out pretty good. Dad said it could be a little spicier though. My inlaws had never had it before and they loved it! I will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
This is somewhat similar to a dish my grandmother makes. However, she adds a cup or two of small-dice potatoes or even leftover mashed potatoes and a pinch of nutmeg. For meat lovers only!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States