French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Yellojellobelly
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Definitely a keeper! I found the recipe by searching for traditional Christmas Eve dishes and thought it looked good so we made it tonight (Christmas eve.) I cut a Christmas tree with a star out of the left over pie crust and put it on top, it was beautiful! Even the 2 year old ate two pieces, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is a great recipe. My French Canadian aunt made this at Christmas all the time and I make it now. In the crust she always added thyme also. Mmm delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran OBrien

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I halved the salt and doubled the spices (personal preference). I replaced 1/2 lb. of the ground pork for 1/2 lb. of ground veal, which is often done here in Quebec. I made a good pastry with a blend of shortening and butter and I also put some thyme in the pastry as well. I've made it twice and the second time I put in a cup of frozen peas - not traditional, but it worked. I only like homemade tourtieres and now I have a recipe which is really appreciated. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I was raised in a French canadian home--that was a tradition over the holidays--the only thing different that we always had in the Tourtiere was 2 large cooked potatoes, chopped--probably that would prevent it from being watery! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I doubled the spices & had 1 pound each of the pork/beef. I didn't have ground cloves so I substituted it with All Spice. I forgot to cover the pie with aluminum foil so I baked it at 400F. The crust came out fine but I found the mixture watery. Next time I won't add the water, or use the correct meat ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was an excellent recipe, but i did cut back on the salt and added more of each other spices...Mmmm delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
It was good, but not great. I would make it again, but this time add something to thicken the liquid and make it into a sauce. Also I would add potatoes, carrots, and maybe some cheese. I realize it would no longer be a traditional Tourtierre, however it would turn it into a 1 dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fearevilchickens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I served this as one of the dishes on a large dinner buffet and it was a big hit. Only one guest (a Brit) knew what it was and very excitedly cut himself a good sized piece. Because I was serving a large crowd, I doubled all of the ingredients and baked it in a 12" pie plate which fit quite nicely. I tend to roll out my pastry to be quite thin, so was still able to use the pastry sold for 9" pies. There was not even a shred of this left at the end of the night. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
My husband is French Canadian and eats this dish every Christmas Eve. He said he has never had a meat pie recipe this delicious. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Excellent recipe,deserves five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States