French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I halved the salt and doubled the spices (personal preference). I replaced 1/2 lb. of the ground pork for 1/2 lb. of ground veal, which is often done here in Quebec. I made a good pastry with a blend of shortening and butter and I also put some thyme in the pastry as well. I've made it twice and the second time I put in a cup of frozen peas - not traditional, but it worked. I only like homemade tourtieres and now I have a recipe which is really appreciated. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I was raised in a French canadian home--that was a tradition over the holidays--the only thing different that we always had in the Tourtiere was 2 large cooked potatoes, chopped--probably that would prevent it from being watery! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I doubled the spices & had 1 pound each of the pork/beef. I didn't have ground cloves so I substituted it with All Spice. I forgot to cover the pie with aluminum foil so I baked it at 400F. The crust came out fine but I found the mixture watery. Next time I won't add the water, or use the correct meat ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was an excellent recipe, but i did cut back on the salt and added more of each other spices...Mmmm delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
It was good, but not great. I would make it again, but this time add something to thicken the liquid and make it into a sauce. Also I would add potatoes, carrots, and maybe some cheese. I realize it would no longer be a traditional Tourtierre, however it would turn it into a 1 dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fearevilchickens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I served this as one of the dishes on a large dinner buffet and it was a big hit. Only one guest (a Brit) knew what it was and very excitedly cut himself a good sized piece. Because I was serving a large crowd, I doubled all of the ingredients and baked it in a 12" pie plate which fit quite nicely. I tend to roll out my pastry to be quite thin, so was still able to use the pastry sold for 9" pies. There was not even a shred of this left at the end of the night. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
My husband is French Canadian and eats this dish every Christmas Eve. He said he has never had a meat pie recipe this delicious. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Excellent recipe,deserves five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe, I disagree with the pork only being the real recipe,, the original was rabbit or moose with pork as the meat was too dry on its own. today in many homes in canada ,, it is pork and beef..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Being French Canadian, I can honestly say this is the best Tourtière I have ever tasted. When I made it at Christmas time, my entire family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States