French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Added 2/3 c instant potato flakes. Also 1/4c chopped fresh parsley. This is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I upped the spices as well, and I added cinnamon. The only problem I had was that the crust I chose to make was very rich, so the finished product ended up ultra-rich! I couldn't even eat a full serving. Next time I'll try a more modest crust....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Perfect!!! I come from a Canadian family and my father had made his Tourtiere for as long as I can remember. This totally out did his, but don't tell him. After making this recipe as is many time I branched out and now use half Turkey and half Meatloaf mix meat and i don't add any salt. Wonderful addition to our Christmas table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Yumm! I will be making this again very soon! This is perfect with some homemade gravy. My suggestion is to scale back on the salt and add a bit of cinnamon to enhance the flavour. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Excellent. I added a small mashed potato to the meat mixture before placing it in the pie shell. We bake this every year for our Christmas Eve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
My Memere always made meat pie every Christmas, and the last few years I've picked up her tradition. No recipes were ever written down, so I developed my own recipe from what I remembered. She always made the pork and hamburg and after cooked with the onion and garlic, it is then mixed with mashed (with butter and milk) potatoes. Mix the meat and potatoes with spices. My spices are: cinnamon, poultry seasoning, salt/pepper, cloves, allspice. I sell them, they are that good. Sandy T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
My mother in law and I use this recipe but cut the salt down by half and use no water but instead a potato to bind everything together :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Tastes almost just like my French-Canadian Grandmother's! Very good meat pie recipe, simple too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was a very good basic meat pie. I did double the spices and then it was savory and aromatic. I would press the meat down into the pie shell more as well as my pieces fell apart - but still good tasting messes! My family all liked it very much! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Absolutely Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States