French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
So I made this last night for the wife and kids. It turned out pretty good. I grew up eating my mum's british meat pie (beef, carrots, onions, gravy....) so this was my first taste of Tourtiere. I really liked the flavour of the meat but I agree with some of the reviews that it was a little on the salty side. If I make it again, I'll cut down on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nerdy Guy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Very similar to my Gram's (long-lost) recipe. Added one egg and a little cinnamon and it was perfect. Thank you for this! Also - authentic French Canadian tourtiere is like authentic Italian pizza...not everyone grew up with or likes the exact same recipe. That doesn't necessarily make one less authentic than another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
My husband loved this recipe. I used 500 grams of a pork/beef mixture and a package of chopped soup vegetables. (I live in Germany right now and they sell packages of fresh soup vegetables in the supermarket. This includes a few carrots, some Leeks, a wedge of celery (is this only sold in Germany? Never seen it in America) and maybe some broccoli) instead of adding cinnamon, I used creole seasoning and the flavors worked together beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Ihad a lot of liquid after baking too much tasted great but I'll put in an egg next time .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I use beef pork and chicken summer savory s/p &onion my moms recipe she was 85 she did this for 50 years yummmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Added 2/3 c instant potato flakes. Also 1/4c chopped fresh parsley. This is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I upped the spices as well, and I added cinnamon. The only problem I had was that the crust I chose to make was very rich, so the finished product ended up ultra-rich! I couldn't even eat a full serving. Next time I'll try a more modest crust....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Perfect!!! I come from a Canadian family and my father had made his Tourtiere for as long as I can remember. This totally out did his, but don't tell him. After making this recipe as is many time I branched out and now use half Turkey and half Meatloaf mix meat and i don't add any salt. Wonderful addition to our Christmas table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Yumm! I will be making this again very soon! This is perfect with some homemade gravy. My suggestion is to scale back on the salt and add a bit of cinnamon to enhance the flavour. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Excellent. I added a small mashed potato to the meat mixture before placing it in the pie shell. We bake this every year for our Christmas Eve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States