French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
I really enjoyed this, although my husband thought it was just so-so. I followed the suggestions of others, but nearly tripled the garlic & added an extra dash of the spices. I was out of sage and substituted dried savory, which worked just fine. Next time I'll increase the spices even more - the flavor was good but not as strong as I might like. I also used a Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust & this made a nice quick weeknight dinner (new potatoes w/ garlic & butter on the side - yummy!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
My mom Used to make tourtiere for me ALL the time, i always wanted to make it on my self and this recepie braught back memories!All my Friends loved it! The only change i made was adding gradded carrots!AWSOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
Very good! I added a dash more of seasonings, and before I put the top crust on, I sprinkled garlic powder on the meat. I'm glad I did! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PANDABEAR01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Very good! And easy to make. I took advice from other reviews and I halved the salt, added an extra dash of all the spices, and threw in a second clove of garlic. Yum, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
My husband is French Canadian and grew up eating pork pies...he says this is the BEST he has ever eaten! (even better than his sister's!!) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
this was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This is absolutely delicious! I never realized the combination of spices could come out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
Mmm, delicious. Made this for Christmas and it was a big hit. The only thing I noticed was that it needed more spice, but that could just be me, or my spices could have been old. Adjusted it by adding 3x the amount of spice, and added a bit of cinnamon too. Tastes just like my mom's (except she makes her crust, and I bought Tenderflake ones).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA COLE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
this is a very good recipe. i will make it again. its easy to make and my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
this is a great recipe. although you should cut back on the salt. also try adding 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. if you don't like the fat in ground pork, after cooking allow to cool in the fridge and take off fat, before spooning into pie crust. i've been making tourtiere, since i could help in the kitchen, making up to 12 or more during xmas. they make for great gifts during the holiday season. but save one for the tail gate party during superbow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States