French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This recipe is delicous and so easy to make. I grew up having tourtiere at Christmas (my Nanna is french canadain) and it was such a treat having it Christmas Eve!!. I would add an egg to help with binding the meat. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This recipe totally rocks!!!! My family and I totally loved it. It is a delicious change of pace. I am not much into making piecrusts and generally dont care to do so, but I absolutely HATE store bought ones. Reluctantly I made this piecrust and decided to use real LARD that I had rendered from a hog that we butchered in the back yard (yes people still do that) I have to say, it made the most awesome combination. A real Lard piecrust and the spices that are called for in the meat.....OMGosh, I thought I was in HEAVEN!!! My advise...dont leave out any of the spices that are called for and make your piecrust with real lard and you are in for a superior treat!!!! I have even made shephards pie from the meat portion of this recipe and that turned out awesome as well. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Wow just like grandma's Excellent!! This one brings back holiday memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
I didn't know what a tourtiere was; all I know is my french Canadian husband has been craving for it for years. We live in Australia. Found this recipe, made it and he was quite happy. Had to adjust the spices so it wasn't too bland. Would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
The sweet clove with the two meats just DOESN'T work well! Also....the bottom crust did not cook well. It was not done but you wouldn't know because the top crust looked done, and have cooked as per the recipe. This is not savory. It was meat and crust with cloves. My idea of a meat pie would be much more hearty...at least some sort of vegetable. I read one review where the cook added carrot. At least that was probably more to look at. This was nice looking on the outside, then you cut in and all you see is brown meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCCBABY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
I really enjoyed this, although my husband thought it was just so-so. I followed the suggestions of others, but nearly tripled the garlic & added an extra dash of the spices. I was out of sage and substituted dried savory, which worked just fine. Next time I'll increase the spices even more - the flavor was good but not as strong as I might like. I also used a Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust & this made a nice quick weeknight dinner (new potatoes w/ garlic & butter on the side - yummy!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
My mom Used to make tourtiere for me ALL the time, i always wanted to make it on my self and this recepie braught back memories!All my Friends loved it! The only change i made was adding gradded carrots!AWSOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
Very good! I added a dash more of seasonings, and before I put the top crust on, I sprinkled garlic powder on the meat. I'm glad I did! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PANDABEAR01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Very good! And easy to make. I took advice from other reviews and I halved the salt, added an extra dash of all the spices, and threw in a second clove of garlic. Yum, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
My husband is French Canadian and grew up eating pork pies...he says this is the BEST he has ever eaten! (even better than his sister's!!) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States