French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This was delicious. I used 4 cloves of garlic and upped the sage to 1/2 tsp. It was so good, everyone went for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Fabulous! Tasted exactly like my Quebecoise best friend made for me at her home in Quebec
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Use all pork for truly authetic French Canadian flavor. You can fix the filling one day and serve the tourtiere the next day. Letting the filling sit over night really lets the spices flavor the filling. Update: I have found that it gets better the day after. So prepare it in advance and reheat if you have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
My dad is from Quebec and knows his meat pies. I used only pork - no beef(real tourtiere uses only pork according to dad) and increased the sage to 1/2 tsp. and it turned out pretty good. Dad said it could be a little spicier though. My inlaws had never had it before and they loved it! I will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
This is somewhat similar to a dish my grandmother makes. However, she adds a cup or two of small-dice potatoes or even leftover mashed potatoes and a pinch of nutmeg. For meat lovers only!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This one's been added to my recipe book. I've made a couple of adjustments, like using only ground beef. It's a hit with the family! Thanks alot Rayna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This recipe is delicous and so easy to make. I grew up having tourtiere at Christmas (my Nanna is french canadain) and it was such a treat having it Christmas Eve!!. I would add an egg to help with binding the meat. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This recipe totally rocks!!!! My family and I totally loved it. It is a delicious change of pace. I am not much into making piecrusts and generally dont care to do so, but I absolutely HATE store bought ones. Reluctantly I made this piecrust and decided to use real LARD that I had rendered from a hog that we butchered in the back yard (yes people still do that) I have to say, it made the most awesome combination. A real Lard piecrust and the spices that are called for in the meat.....OMGosh, I thought I was in HEAVEN!!! My advise...dont leave out any of the spices that are called for and make your piecrust with real lard and you are in for a superior treat!!!! I have even made shephards pie from the meat portion of this recipe and that turned out awesome as well. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Wow just like grandma's Excellent!! This one brings back holiday memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
I didn't know what a tourtiere was; all I know is my french Canadian husband has been craving for it for years. We live in Australia. Found this recipe, made it and he was quite happy. Had to adjust the spices so it wasn't too bland. Would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States