French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
I FOUND THAT THERE WAS TOO MUCH SALT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
I made this for dinner on Christmas eve. It is a keeper in my household. I am still getting compliments from my husband on this. My father's family hails from French Canada dating back to early 1600's. Though he does not remember his mother making this pie, he did remember other's making it. It will be a tradition in our family now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
first time trying a tourtiere, this recipe make it so easy and good, everyone asked for seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
Easy to make but too salty, perhaps reducing the salt by half would be better. Reheats well. Nice to try but not something I will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
this is a great recipe. although you should cut back on the salt. also try adding 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. if you don't like the fat in ground pork, after cooking allow to cool in the fridge and take off fat, before spooning into pie crust. i've been making tourtiere, since i could help in the kitchen, making up to 12 or more during xmas. they make for great gifts during the holiday season. but save one for the tail gate party during superbow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
this is a very good recipe. i will make it again. its easy to make and my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
Mmm, delicious. Made this for Christmas and it was a big hit. The only thing I noticed was that it needed more spice, but that could just be me, or my spices could have been old. Adjusted it by adding 3x the amount of spice, and added a bit of cinnamon too. Tastes just like my mom's (except she makes her crust, and I bought Tenderflake ones).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA COLE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This is absolutely delicious! I never realized the combination of spices could come out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
this was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
My husband is French Canadian and grew up eating pork pies...he says this is the BEST he has ever eaten! (even better than his sister's!!) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States