French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I'm afraid I have to give this recipe only 3 stars as I think some of the other tourtiere recipes on this site are better. Some use mashed potato and I think that would help bind the meat better. Otherwise it's a bit crumbly. The combination of spices is good, but might add more next time. I didn't think the salt was overwhelming, but could cut it down if you're worried about sodium intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Very good, huge pie! Nice flavour, will add more onions and garlic next time. Good seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Excellent Recipe... I didn't have any beef but after the pork was cooked, I added my meat loaf left overs. All the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I don't cook a whole lot but I managed to make this dish without any problems. It turned out excellent, everyone enjoyed it and went back for seconds. The next time I make it I might try it with a few more veggies, but for those folks out there than enjoy their meat, this is the perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I wasn't too impressed with this at all. I had to reduce the cooking time because the crust was going to burn (it was fully heated all the way through). When I cut into the pie, it all fell apart and looked a mess. It was bland and definitely missing something. Other Tourtiere pies I have had have diced potatoes and celery included in the filling, and maybe this would have made it more tasty. I won't be repeating this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was excellent, just enough spices. The only thing I would do next time is put 1/4 cup water instead of the 1/2 cup since it had a wet bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was well-received by my French-Canadian side of the family as well as the Polish/Irish/German folks who looked at me like I had three heads when I said "meat pie"!?! I used the recipe for Tourtiere Spice Mix from this site - savory is a must, according to my aunt - and also used a cheddar cheese crust from a Chicken Pot Pie recipe here (I know, not authentic but had seen a recipe and just couldn't get it out of my head.) Ended up with a dish which will now be tradition for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I made this for my family last weekend. It was a huge hit! I had taken some of the others advice and lessened the salt and doubled the spices. It was great...I am currently making more now as everyone wants to have them for Christmas. They all thought I had found Grandmas recipe from the 1940's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
The family loved it! Excellent recipe! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States