French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Really tasty! Very close to my family recipe- make sure to eat it with chow chow instead of ketchup for pure québecois goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
We like it served with cold ketchup! Adds a nice taste and makes any kid love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is the first tourtiere I've ever made, and it is just delicious!! I added cooked potatos in the mix just cause I love a tourtière with potatos. It was so moist and yummy, and served with fruit ketchup, just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is a delicious Tourtiere. My Mom introduced me to this years ago. I love the spices, not too overpowering. I used 1/3 pork, beef, and veal. I also use one cup riced boiled potato and my own pie crust recipe. My whole family looks forward to this dish each Christmas Eve following Church. It is especially good with Rhubarb relish preserves. The review suggesting the filling chill overnight for flavors to blend was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I was checking on the Touriere recipe, and it is identical to the one my mom gave me over 40 years ago, the only thing i changed, was to make a beef gravy in the meat mixture, and it is nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I'm afraid I have to give this recipe only 3 stars as I think some of the other tourtiere recipes on this site are better. Some use mashed potato and I think that would help bind the meat better. Otherwise it's a bit crumbly. The combination of spices is good, but might add more next time. I didn't think the salt was overwhelming, but could cut it down if you're worried about sodium intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Very good, huge pie! Nice flavour, will add more onions and garlic next time. Good seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Excellent Recipe... I didn't have any beef but after the pork was cooked, I added my meat loaf left overs. All the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I don't cook a whole lot but I managed to make this dish without any problems. It turned out excellent, everyone enjoyed it and went back for seconds. The next time I make it I might try it with a few more veggies, but for those folks out there than enjoy their meat, this is the perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I wasn't too impressed with this at all. I had to reduce the cooking time because the crust was going to burn (it was fully heated all the way through). When I cut into the pie, it all fell apart and looked a mess. It was bland and definitely missing something. Other Tourtiere pies I have had have diced potatoes and celery included in the filling, and maybe this would have made it more tasty. I won't be repeating this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States