French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Husband is French Canadian and he thought this was better than what he remembers his family making, as theirs was too dry, this one was moist. I used all pork only, kept everything else the same to a T! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This is a great recipe! If you are only using beef- use less salt (1/4 tsp). I suggest fresh thyme and sage if you have it. It is SO easy and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PomegranateGrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Excellent rendition of the traditional tourtiere. I've made this one a few times and its always been a favorite here at home. I tend to substitute the meat for a meatloaf mix at the butcher, it gives you a nice blend of beef,pork and veal. I must go and reheat some leftovers. Good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I didn't use the pork as I only had ground beef at home. It was so good that my picky 3 year old daughter ate seconds and had leftovers for lunch the next day. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This is okay. My dad's family is french canadian. Modernly in the maine area. We eat this every christmas eve and its supposed to have mashed potatoes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oneandonly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was delicious! I added a few things to it so it probably wasn't authentic anymore, but it sure was good. I added a mashed, boiled potato, about 10 mashed baby carrots, a minced fuji apple, and some cinnamon. Mmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
My husband and daughter both gave this a thumbs up. It's not difficult to make (especially if you buy refrigerated pastry. The edges of the crust got pretty dark even after covering them for the first 20 minutes, so I will cover them longer next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Tourtiere/meat pies are delish! For extra flavor I browned 1 lb. ground pork (all I had). I added a large shallot and 3 garlic cloves, then S&P, sage, rosemary and cloves. While that was sauteing, I boiled two small diced potatoes. I added those, non-mashed, with the potato water (about a 1/2 cup remaining) to the meat, along with a few tablespoons of white wine, to simmer till the water was mostly reduced. Added to an all-butter pie crust. It is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was the best pork pie my husband and myself ever had. I personally grew up in a very french family and was forced to eat pork pie. I haven't had it in years now and figured I would look at everyone else's recipes and compare them to mine. I followed everything on this one except for 2 things. I still added 3 meduim whipped potatoes(made mine with only 1 1/2 lbs of pork)like in the traditional pork pie, I sauted my onions in a little bacon fat for flavor and then I actually used phyllo dough since that's all I had in my house and couldn't get out. It was really good with this dough and since I'm not nuts about thick crusts anyways, this worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Really tasty! Very close to my family recipe- make sure to eat it with chow chow instead of ketchup for pure québecois goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States