French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was an excellent recipe, but i did cut back on the salt and added more of each other spices...Mmmm delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Pietroniro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
It was good, but not great. I would make it again, but this time add something to thicken the liquid and make it into a sauce. Also I would add potatoes, carrots, and maybe some cheese. I realize it would no longer be a traditional Tourtierre, however it would turn it into a 1 dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fearevilchickens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I served this as one of the dishes on a large dinner buffet and it was a big hit. Only one guest (a Brit) knew what it was and very excitedly cut himself a good sized piece. Because I was serving a large crowd, I doubled all of the ingredients and baked it in a 12" pie plate which fit quite nicely. I tend to roll out my pastry to be quite thin, so was still able to use the pastry sold for 9" pies. There was not even a shred of this left at the end of the night. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
My husband is French Canadian and eats this dish every Christmas Eve. He said he has never had a meat pie recipe this delicious. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Excellent recipe,deserves five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe, I disagree with the pork only being the real recipe,, the original was rabbit or moose with pork as the meat was too dry on its own. today in many homes in canada ,, it is pork and beef..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Being French Canadian, I can honestly say this is the best Tourtière I have ever tasted. When I made it at Christmas time, my entire family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
After cooking approximately according to directions I still had a fair amount of water left in the meat, I decided to boil just the water down and add it to add more flavor, it went really fast and I burned some of it. The portion I had left that was usuable was quite salty so I am guessing if I had used it all it might have been too salty. The recipe says to spoon the meat into the pie crust, I don't think the recipe was meant to have all the water and spices in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samantha_MacDonald
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was a big hit a few nights ago. I chopped up some very fine pieces of celery and carrots to the meat mixture, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha_MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I made this and it was a HUGE hit with my husband and 3 teen-age kids. My 16-year old said: It's like potato chips, you can't stop eating it. I would follow the suggestions next time to add potato. Loved it. Make 2 and freeze one for another time. (I tried to do this, but the second one never made it to the freezer!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States