French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
My Memere always made meat pie every Christmas, and the last few years I've picked up her tradition. No recipes were ever written down, so I developed my own recipe from what I remembered. She always made the pork and hamburg and after cooked with the onion and garlic, it is then mixed with mashed (with butter and milk) potatoes. Mix the meat and potatoes with spices. My spices are: cinnamon, poultry seasoning, salt/pepper, cloves, allspice. I sell them, they are that good. Sandy T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
My mother in law and I use this recipe but cut the salt down by half and use no water but instead a potato to bind everything together :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Tastes almost just like my French-Canadian Grandmother's! Very good meat pie recipe, simple too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was a very good basic meat pie. I did double the spices and then it was savory and aromatic. I would press the meat down into the pie shell more as well as my pieces fell apart - but still good tasting messes! My family all liked it very much! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Absolutely Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Easy to make, good taste, a little salty. Will make again but cut down on salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
i am french canadian and was just looking up fun recipes to go with my heritage and was skeptical at first but with that first bite... yum! i'm gonna share this recipe with friends for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Great! Made it for Xmas eve dinner this year. I had to work 'till dinnertime, so I made the filling a day ahead, then just put it into the crust and the oven when I got home...mo muss, no fuss! I used 1lb pork and 1lb beef, and used veg stock instead of water....easily made enough filling for 2 9" pies, so I froze half of it for a later meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
My father, having some French Canadian in him, always used to make tourtiere on Christmas Eve when I was a child. This pie tastes almost like his...only thing that was missing was the mushroom gravy. P.s. Based on others comments I only used 1 tsp of salt in the pie and it turned out wonderful. No extra salt was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States