French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
My son had tried frozen store bought Tourtiere and really enjoyed it so I thought we would try this. I used beef boullion for the water and reduced the salt and thyme to 1/4 tsp. I added extra garlic and salt free Cajun seasoning but we still felt it was missing something. I will keep looking for the right recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
All pork, no clove. Added one small diced potato cooked in chicken broth and one egg for binder, once the meat mixture cooled. This was my mom's recipe served after Christmas Midnight Mass each year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayjwu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I tried the recipe this weekend. I had 1 kilo of ground pork and I added 2 shredded raw potatoes while it was cooking. I was able to make 2 pies with this filling. I doubled the spices and added about 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I didn't have ground cloves so i added 3 whole cloves while cooking and removed them before filling the pies. I will definitively make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
5 star forsure! Delicious. I doubled the spices and used moose and pork. 80/20 moose to pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This recipe sounds good but my grandmother's meat pie recipe includes (about a 1/2 ream) crushed saltines, (no measurements included!) allspice, cinnamon, cloves and salt - "do not put in too much salt" (thanks Gram) plus a couple of mashed (dry) potatoes. The water measurement is to "cover the pork just enough" and after the meat is cooked, add the saltines and potatoes till it is stiff enough" ?? Making this next week, as always, for my Thanksgiving breakfast with a cup of coffee :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I made this for my family last year (2013) and it was the shining star of Thanksgiving! I took the advice of some of the folks who had made it, I reduced the salt and increased the herbs/spices. I used 1/2 a tsp salt then doubled the herbs & spices. Everyone raved about the meat pie and they are now requesting it for this Thanksgiving. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This pie was absolutely delicious. Best meat pie recipe I ever made. My husband just loved it and said if he was a judge he'd have to give me a blue ribbon, lol. Only thing I did was reduce the salt by 1/2 tsp & added about 3/4 cup mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
amazing... almost like Mom's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Burrows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Yummy, tyvm for sharing! This is my third time making the recipe and this time I used an extra 1/2 lb of pork because we like deep dish style pies so just upped all the ingredients about 25%. I (reluctantly) added about 3/4 tsp of cinnamon as some reviewers suggested and have to admit, it added to the already abundant flavor of the filling. My only suggestion would be to add a tbsp or two (as needed) of unseasoned breadcrumbs for binding but don't add too much - the last time I overdid it and the filling came out a tad dry but still tasted great! Personally, I like a filling that holds together. I made the crust using butter flavor Crisco - perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
A recipe that requires no modification. Made as is and it was amazing. I have also made this recipe more traditionally using only pork, both ways are equally delicious to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States