French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
5 star forsure! Delicious. I doubled the spices and used moose and pork. 80/20 moose to pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This recipe sounds good but my grandmother's meat pie recipe includes (about a 1/2 ream) crushed saltines, (no measurements included!) allspice, cinnamon, cloves and salt - "do not put in too much salt" (thanks Gram) plus a couple of mashed (dry) potatoes. The water measurement is to "cover the pork just enough" and after the meat is cooked, add the saltines and potatoes till it is stiff enough" ?? Making this next week, as always, for my Thanksgiving breakfast with a cup of coffee :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I made this for my family last year (2013) and it was the shining star of Thanksgiving! I took the advice of some of the folks who had made it, I reduced the salt and increased the herbs/spices. I used 1/2 a tsp salt then doubled the herbs & spices. Everyone raved about the meat pie and they are now requesting it for this Thanksgiving. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This pie was absolutely delicious. Best meat pie recipe I ever made. My husband just loved it and said if he was a judge he'd have to give me a blue ribbon, lol. Only thing I did was reduce the salt by 1/2 tsp & added about 3/4 cup mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
amazing... almost like Mom's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Burrows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Yummy, tyvm for sharing! This is my third time making the recipe and this time I used an extra 1/2 lb of pork because we like deep dish style pies so just upped all the ingredients about 25%. I (reluctantly) added about 3/4 tsp of cinnamon as some reviewers suggested and have to admit, it added to the already abundant flavor of the filling. My only suggestion would be to add a tbsp or two (as needed) of unseasoned breadcrumbs for binding but don't add too much - the last time I overdid it and the filling came out a tad dry but still tasted great! Personally, I like a filling that holds together. I made the crust using butter flavor Crisco - perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
A recipe that requires no modification. Made as is and it was amazing. I have also made this recipe more traditionally using only pork, both ways are equally delicious to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
So I made this last night for the wife and kids. It turned out pretty good. I grew up eating my mum's british meat pie (beef, carrots, onions, gravy....) so this was my first taste of Tourtiere. I really liked the flavour of the meat but I agree with some of the reviews that it was a little on the salty side. If I make it again, I'll cut down on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nerdy Guy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Very similar to my Gram's (long-lost) recipe. Added one egg and a little cinnamon and it was perfect. Thank you for this! Also - authentic French Canadian tourtiere is like authentic Italian pizza...not everyone grew up with or likes the exact same recipe. That doesn't necessarily make one less authentic than another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
My husband loved this recipe. I used 500 grams of a pork/beef mixture and a package of chopped soup vegetables. (I live in Germany right now and they sell packages of fresh soup vegetables in the supermarket. This includes a few carrots, some Leeks, a wedge of celery (is this only sold in Germany? Never seen it in America) and maybe some broccoli) instead of adding cinnamon, I used creole seasoning and the flavors worked together beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States