French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alijw
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Delicious, although I would decrease the salt a bit next time. Definitely one to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I added some lightly mashed potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I love the flavors and ease of this pie. I need to figure out a way to make it hold together better. Otherwise, a definite hit. My sweetie suggested adding potatoe, and as I read some of the reviews, it seems there are some mashed potatoe fans. I have never met a potatoe I did not like, so that will go in next time,and maybe an egg. I did think this would make a great shepherd's (cottage) pie filling, and lard pastry would be divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntcandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I doubled the spices like other people had suggested and the flavor was great. I loved this recipe. My only issue was that the meat mixture was too dry and crumbled out of the pie. I did try adding mashed potato to bulk it up but it didn't work. I will definitely make this again, however I may try using an egg to keep the filling together. Otherwise yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This was a great dish. I used ground beef instead and it turned out great! Will definitely try it with pork next time. Served with roasted red potatoes and fresh green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I live in Vermont about 15 miles south of Canada and this is very close to what I grew up eating. I think my uncle's mom (from Lacolle) didn't use ground beef. I tried this recipe and it was very good; a little different from Yvette's though (again, I'm thinking it's the ground beef). We have this around Christmas time every year. My husband is from California and had never heard of this. First time I made it he ate 1/2 of the pork pie! I like mine with a some gravy and just veggies on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
My son had tried frozen store bought Tourtiere and really enjoyed it so I thought we would try this. I used beef boullion for the water and reduced the salt and thyme to 1/4 tsp. I added extra garlic and salt free Cajun seasoning but we still felt it was missing something. I will keep looking for the right recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
All pork, no clove. Added one small diced potato cooked in chicken broth and one egg for binder, once the meat mixture cooled. This was my mom's recipe served after Christmas Midnight Mass each year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayjwu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I tried the recipe this weekend. I had 1 kilo of ground pork and I added 2 shredded raw potatoes while it was cooking. I was able to make 2 pies with this filling. I doubled the spices and added about 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I didn't have ground cloves so i added 3 whole cloves while cooking and removed them before filling the pies. I will definitively make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
5 star forsure! Delicious. I doubled the spices and used moose and pork. 80/20 moose to pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States