French Cafe Summer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I made this recipe for a pot luck. It was a great hit. I used balsamic vinegar/oil/ dijon dressing, instead of just the oil. I just made it again. I guess this recipe will be my take to party recipe for the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This recipe is lovely, the flavors and textures are well-balanced. Tasty and refreshing. BUT it makes way more than 8 servings. More like 16. I hope the ladies at the bag lunch meting are hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Excellent recipe. A few tips to make it perfect: 1) I used only 8 red potatoes instead of 14. This way, you can get more flavor from the veggies. 2) Make sure the potatoes are fully cooled before adding them to the dish (2 hours in the fridge will do.) 3) I added about 2 teaspoons of salt and 1 teaspoon of pepper to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I would give it a ten if I could, I just found this to be very good & more like a meal in one with the potatoes and beans. I didn't have the romano cheese but it didn't need it. Excllent on a hot day or not. Will be making this again ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I made this for my daughter's high school graduation party and it was a huge hit with all our guests, from the grandparents down to the teenagers. I followed the recipe except that I almost doubled the ingredients for the dressing. Making the amount of dressing listed left it too dry in my opinion. I have made it for several other occasions and I always get great compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
I made this salad for our Mother's Day celebration. My mother wanted a luncheon of salads. I wanted to try some salads that were not so ordinary and routine, and this salad really fit the bill! It is a beautiful salad with lots of color. (I used an orange bell pepper instead of the green.) Everyone loved it! And we were all pleased at the healthier choice it offered us over mayonnaise laden potato salad. Definitely a keeper! I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Very tasty and light - perfect for hot nights. My kids love it and I can get all these veggies in them at once! I decreased the amount of most ingredients for a smaller batch. Very pretty - a good one to take to potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
A couple of tweeks to this recipe elevated it from good to outstanding. When I fist started making this, it was welcome. Later, it was requested. Now I get orders for it from a friend with a cetering business on the side. Substitute apple cider vinegar, add honey or maple syrup to add some body to the dressing, use whole grain french mustard, cut the potatoes raw and sprinkle liberally with paprika and chili powder and toss them in olive oil before microwaving, let sit until they come to room temperature, and most important, use fresh corn baked in the oven or grilled and then sliced off the cob into a bowl. If fresh corn is not available, I use frozen. I use green and yellow squash in summer and cabbage in winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This was good but not great. I had to add a splash of red wine vinegar as suggested by another reviewer. Even then I think it needs twice as much dressing. We really couldn't taste the dressing at all. I had no romano cheese so we used feta and it was a good option - salty and very tasty among the mild veggies. Thanks for the recipe; I'll make it again with the extra dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Based on other reviewers, I cut the recipe in half; but doubled the dressing adding some red wine vinegar. All of the veggies were fresh from the garden which really perked up the flavors. I served the Romano on the side for individual tastes. There is leftovers for tomorrow and maybe even the next day. This does make alot!! Kimberly, thank you for sharing something new for us to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States