French Cafe Summer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2002
I made this salad for our Mother's Day celebration. My mother wanted a luncheon of salads. I wanted to try some salads that were not so ordinary and routine, and this salad really fit the bill! It is a beautiful salad with lots of color. (I used an orange bell pepper instead of the green.) Everyone loved it! And we were all pleased at the healthier choice it offered us over mayonnaise laden potato salad. Definitely a keeper! I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
Ingredients were a little pricey for one side dish, and the serving number is way off. I made the dish without modifying and ended up with a roaster pan full. Fortunately, I was making it for a youth gathering and needed alot. Sadly, I bought enough ingredients to double it and ended up using only half. I heard back that this was one of the favorites of the teenagers. They loved that it had no eggs or mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I came across this while searching for a recipe to use up the head of red cabbage. A little different, but tasty and pretty nonetheless. I cut the recipe in half, but then only used 4 red potatoes (instead of 7). I also had only 1/2 a red pepper, I didn't bother to buy the other 2 colored peppers. I added the dressing and it was soaked up immediately, probably because I didn't let the potatoes cool completely. Anyway I ended up making twice as much dressing just to get it going. Also added a splash of red wine vinegar, it seemed to need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I would give it a ten if I could, I just found this to be very good & more like a meal in one with the potatoes and beans. I didn't have the romano cheese but it didn't need it. Excllent on a hot day or not. Will be making this again ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I made this for my daughter's high school graduation party and it was a huge hit with all our guests, from the grandparents down to the teenagers. I followed the recipe except that I almost doubled the ingredients for the dressing. Making the amount of dressing listed left it too dry in my opinion. I have made it for several other occasions and I always get great compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Nice to have a potato salad not based on mayonaisse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
Excellent summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I made this recipe for a pot luck. It was a great hit. I used balsamic vinegar/oil/ dijon dressing, instead of just the oil. I just made it again. I guess this recipe will be my take to party recipe for the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This was very good, but the quantity is huge. That wasn't a problem for us because we just continued eating it through the week. Still tastes good the next day although the potatoes do get soggy. The other vegetables stay crisp. As good as this salad is, I think the dressing needs some zip. I may tweak it with some vinegar next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This recipe is lovely, the flavors and textures are well-balanced. Tasty and refreshing. BUT it makes way more than 8 servings. More like 16. I hope the ladies at the bag lunch meting are hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States