French Cafe Summer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
A couple of tweeks to this recipe elevated it from good to outstanding. When I fist started making this, it was welcome. Later, it was requested. Now I get orders for it from a friend with a cetering business on the side. Substitute apple cider vinegar, add honey or maple syrup to add some body to the dressing, use whole grain french mustard, cut the potatoes raw and sprinkle liberally with paprika and chili powder and toss them in olive oil before microwaving, let sit until they come to room temperature, and most important, use fresh corn baked in the oven or grilled and then sliced off the cob into a bowl. If fresh corn is not available, I use frozen. I use green and yellow squash in summer and cabbage in winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Based on other reviewers, I cut the recipe in half; but doubled the dressing adding some red wine vinegar. All of the veggies were fresh from the garden which really perked up the flavors. I served the Romano on the side for individual tastes. There is leftovers for tomorrow and maybe even the next day. This does make alot!! Kimberly, thank you for sharing something new for us to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This recipe is lovely, the flavors and textures are well-balanced. Tasty and refreshing. BUT it makes way more than 8 servings. More like 16. I hope the ladies at the bag lunch meting are hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Excellent recipe. A few tips to make it perfect: 1) I used only 8 red potatoes instead of 14. This way, you can get more flavor from the veggies. 2) Make sure the potatoes are fully cooled before adding them to the dish (2 hours in the fridge will do.) 3) I added about 2 teaspoons of salt and 1 teaspoon of pepper to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I made this for my daughter's high school graduation party and it was a huge hit with all our guests, from the grandparents down to the teenagers. I followed the recipe except that I almost doubled the ingredients for the dressing. Making the amount of dressing listed left it too dry in my opinion. I have made it for several other occasions and I always get great compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
The best thing I can say about this is that it's different. I found it very labor intensive and only passable in flavor. Glad I try out recipes before making them for pot lucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
My husband wanted me to make potato salad, but I wanted a healthier version without so much mayo. I was VERY disappointed! I should have read the reviews before making it. I agree that it needs LOTS more dressing! I couldn't taste ANY! Adding vinegar is also a good idea, since olive oil doesn't have much taste anyway. There was definitely something missing. I was embarassed to show up at a picnic with it. Sounded like a great idea for something different. But, I don't think I dare try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This was good but not great. I had to add a splash of red wine vinegar as suggested by another reviewer. Even then I think it needs twice as much dressing. We really couldn't taste the dressing at all. I had no romano cheese so we used feta and it was a good option - salty and very tasty among the mild veggies. Thanks for the recipe; I'll make it again with the extra dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I made this recipe for a pot luck. It was a great hit. I used balsamic vinegar/oil/ dijon dressing, instead of just the oil. I just made it again. I guess this recipe will be my take to party recipe for the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I would give it a ten if I could, I just found this to be very good & more like a meal in one with the potatoes and beans. I didn't have the romano cheese but it didn't need it. Excllent on a hot day or not. Will be making this again ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States