French Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is a great recipe. Like a lot of others I cut down on the flour used and used butter flavored shortening. If you are looking for a sweet icing, this is not for you. This is a very light, creamy buttery icing, and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I love this recipe. It tastes light and fluffy like whipped cream but it's stable. It has just the right amount of sweetness for me and has gotten rave reviews from friends and family. I made exactly as directed and found it necessary to refrigerate it just a little in order for it to hold its shape when decorating. I was able to do some simple piping and swirls. Probably not the recipe for doing fancy decorating but for taste, it beats every frosting recipe I've tried hands down. I've made it several times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarkandRitaville

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I just made this frosting for the first time and it is AWESOME! I never made French Buttercream Frosting before but thought I'd try it as I'm trying a variety of frostings until I find the ones I like. I followed the directions as is, using both 1 lb of butter and 1/2 c butter flavor margarine, and whipped the dickens out of it in the mixer to make it light and fluffy, even added the cream and 4T flour together and thought it just fine. What I love about this recipe is how easy it is to frost a cake! I frosted my two layer cake after having just finished mixing up the frosting and it went on sooooooo smoothly! I was even able to make hard edges on my cake and smooth away the frosting lines, something I hadn't been able to do before. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Lighter than what I normally think of when I think of buttercream, but that's exactly what I was looking for in this case. I used this on a wedding cake and got rave reviews. Great for those looking for a less sweet, lighter buttercream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This butter cream tastes amazing. I did, however, make some slight changes to the recipe. I use half and half instead of heavy cream and cook it on the stove. I tried in the microwave but I found that it was sometimes lumpy. I use all butter and no shortening (we love butter!) It is fiddly to get the temperature just right for piping but the taste more than makes up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
loved it!! easy and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakerjoe
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made this with the"White almond wedding cake" recipe on site, for sisters wedding, Best cake and frosting I've ever done on a wedding cake to date! Tip: Make sure the flour/heavy whipping cream mix comes completely cool before adding so it doesn't get"soupy" on you, don't use butter flavored crisco, and reduce butter extract a little & add a little more vanilla instead. Can't wait to try the chocolate version of this :) Can't wait for a reason to make this again, very happy, also only use unsalted butter. thanks all recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BAMOM247
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
So much to love about this recipe! Fluffy, but rich tasting, goes on beautifully, sets up well when refrigerated. I didn't have butter flavoring so I used almond and it was terrific. Next time I will try cutting the shortening as some others suggested. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAMOM247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
this is best buttercream ever! sift your flour to make sure there are no lumps in that mixture. i added 3 heaping cups of powdered suger and it was a little stiffer to my liking. smooth as silk and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Excelent I made a little changes that have the another reviews. But works great the sabor is perfect no sugary no buttery perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States