French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
My 5-year-old daughter and I made these tonight -- and between us, she probably has more skills in the kitchen! Needless to say, they turned out WONDERFULLY!! Perfect taste and texture. I only needed to cook mine for about 9 minutes and they were done. I guess that's ovens for you. But super easy peasy -- and 10 times BETTER than the Starbucks ones! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
They tasted ok. I usually buy the madeleines at Costco and wanted to make some like those since they are pricey to buy at the store. I got a madeleine pan from Macy's and tried out this recipe. They were a lot lighter and cake like than the ones I got at Costco, I like the thicker rich moist center with crispy outside. I guess I will have to tweak the recipe a little bit. Also in my oven I think the temp. was a little too high and time a little too short. I know this can be different with different types of ovens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Such

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I don´t know if this recipe is the same as the original french one, but it tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana Bortolato

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kirby
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Turned out awesome but make sure you read it all the way through a couple times before you start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I bake them and they're gone in five minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Extremely nice recipe, light and fluffy as it should be. I would recommend decreasing the oven temperature to 350 max, though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi.Gandolfo
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Okay, so as far as the recipe goes, it's a well rounded Madeleine recipe. But instructions for the bake time was a bit shady. I noticed in the video they used a light pan and the one I own is a dark pan. So I figured to check them after ten minutes of bake time. These cooked up really quick. In just about 9 minutes they were done and in my opinion a bit too done. So if you have a darker pan like I do I very strongly suggest you wait only 7-9 minutes at 375. Otherwise they will be burned to little french crisps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This recipe is really easy make and its soo good! My colleagues loved them! ill be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Selma Rumohr
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and I would've rather had less lemon, more vanilla, and not so chewy...did I do something wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicolec79
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States