French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
Super easy and delicious! The crispy outside and sponge inside is perfection. I should have kept an eye on them in the oven though. 14 minutes at 375 was about one minute too long. I wasn't sure if you're supposed to fill the pan molds or fill 3/4 like muffins. I opted for filling them and they're perfect. Next time I will double this recipe because I can't seem to stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellie702
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
loved the flavor I never made Madeline's with lemon zest before! Great twist and the process in making these was a lot simpler then the previous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
They are wonderful! My grandkids ate them. They loved them, and they're chocolate chip cookie fans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
The Madeleines got burned around the edges. Also, I left them for 12 minutes and they burned at the bottom as well. I followed every step and I have no idea what happened. Maybe I should try to set up the oven at a different temperatures? Any ideas or suggestions? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
14 minutes was WAY too long w/ my crappy apt oven, but the taste is outstanding. will try again w/ varying times and see if that helps. very easy and straightforward - just disappointed that they didn't cook even! swine oven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis Conley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Byrd
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Excellent and accurate. This recipe turned out exactly 12 cakes and was very tasty. Will totally be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Byrd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Autumn Leaves
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Very good! I just used vanilla and left out the lemon. Then I dusted with powdered sugar while they were still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Devastated. I am a seasoned baker and I am utterly dumbfounded as to what went wrong. Thoughts or advice? Per the great reviews, I thought I had finally found a fool-proof madeleine recipe because they can be so finicky. The batter smelt amazing! Yet for some reason, at the 14 minute mark, they were burnt all over. David Lebovitz's version freezes the pan before adding the dough... maybe that could have saved these. It's a pity because the batter looked and smelt so promising. Heck, even the burnt cookies look pretty! On to the next one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I must say that I went into the recipe without taking my usual precautions so here are my suggestions: Follow the recipe as stated,if your madeleine mold is of the dark kind,lower the temperature by about 25 degrees less, so bake at 350 instead, watch the baking time and do not bake longer than the 14 minutes. When I made mine, I noticed they came too browned which immediately led me to lower the temperature and watch the cooking timing. I also noticed I had some leftover mix enough for baking 2 more which surprised me as everybody says it only yields 12. After correcting the baking temperature and time, I found out that those 2 that I baked last were much better not too browned nor crispy and a tid bit denser but as my french partner told me: now this is tasting closer to it! My french partner says madeleines are not supposed to be crispy or too brown looking so there is my advice! As an overall, I would say it tasted very good I will just be more careful next time I bake.Certainly will continue adjusting until the dozen comes out nicely soft brown and airy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
My 5-year-old daughter and I made these tonight -- and between us, she probably has more skills in the kitchen! Needless to say, they turned out WONDERFULLY!! Perfect taste and texture. I only needed to cook mine for about 9 minutes and they were done. I guess that's ovens for you. But super easy peasy -- and 10 times BETTER than the Starbucks ones! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States