French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SmellsLikeRoses
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Great recipe, but too sweet for my taste. I'd cut back down the sugar to 1/4 cup maybe less. My madeleines came out sorta burned when I did 375 for 14 minutes, I think that's way too hot. I'd use 350 degrees next time for 14 mins. It's sorta like a sponge cake cookie but it's a good copy cat Madeleine. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmellsLikeRoses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Terrific recipe! The only thing that I changed was cutting back on the butter a little, and I dipped the finished cookies in melted milk chocolate. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was my first time making these and they were super delicious. My kids loved them! I'm so glad I now know how to make them and will be doing so more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I love these sponge cookies!! So delicious and they have such a soft, fluffy and lightly sweet taste great with tea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This recipe was so easy to make and they came out tasting so delicious! Definitely do NOT skimp on buttering and flouring the pan before pouring the batter in. Also I would bake them at 350 degrees next time and only for 5-6 minutes. I ended up slightly burning my batch because I thought it would take 14-17 minutes.. of course every oven is different, but that much of a time difference?? Make sure to closely monitor them! And madeleines are supposed to be light and spongey… please don't compare Starbucks "pastries" to this recipe; thats why you have to whip the eggs at the beginning until light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
As a beginner, this was simple and produced delicious results. I doubled the amount of lemon zest to get a little more lemony flavor, and quite enjoyed it. The "gentle folding" was more like careful stirring in my experience. Made 12 large-ish Madeleines and 6 smaller ones, so there is some extra. Baking time actually took a total of less than 10 minutes in my oven. Be sure to add extra butter to the pan, as my Madeleines were reluctant to leave their indentations. Proustian and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was simple and the results are lovely. Next time I'll use the whisk attachment for my mixer though. That will probably make them even lighter. I'll be making these a regular thing at my house now that I have the pans and the recipe. Can't wait to try the chocolate ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
these were good, BUT they are not Madeleines. Madeleines are supposed to melt in your mouth, buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
It makes a nice little cake but it doesn't really have the best elements of a traditional madeleine like a dense, moist crumb or the crisp crust. It's lighter and fluffier, almost like a sponge cake. My daughter likes this version a lot because it seems less heavy but if you are like me and you like traditional French pastries in all their buttery, rich glory, you might be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Totally amazing!!!!! Just as I remember them.......great recipe!!!! make sure you mix it for the full 10 minutes and grease the bakeware well and in between bakes, other than that follow the instruction to the dot. A keeper .....thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States