French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I am confused. Your video calls for 1/2cup butter while the write up calls for 1/4 cup butter. Which is it? BTW, I love the video with the perky music and simple-looking process. Just need to clarify the butter amount. I am giving it 3 stars because of the recipe blunder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
What do u use if u can't find a Madeleine's pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Can I actually use a regular sheet pan, since I don't have one right now? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This recipe is really easy make and its soo good! My colleagues loved them! ill be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Selma Rumohr
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and I would've rather had less lemon, more vanilla, and not so chewy...did I do something wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicolec79
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Photo by kakinfo2
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Absolutely deliiiiicious!!! This recipe is perfect the way it is. Two tips: everyone's oven is different so watch the oven to make sure you don't over bake. 10 mins was perfect for mine. Once you see the sides start to brown, it's time to take it out of the oven. Also, I beat for a full 10 mins, the longer you beat the lighter your cookies will be. I love this! t was light, it was airy. I ate the whole batch right out the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ive
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Just did the recipe . Posted two photos. First madeleines, so they turned out pretty good maybe a little bit "dense" for my taste, I was expecting fluffier madeleines. But again these are my firsts.The first batch didn't get the "bump" but then the last batch came out with the "bump" so I was thinking maybe the batter needs to "rest for a couple of minutes, but then I don't know. Needing here some expert advise, by the way I read the some of the reviews before making them. Anyway I am going to try the recipe again some other time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aguadilla, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Ever since I found this recipe I have been using it and tweaking it to try and perfect it. At first I thought my oven wasn't working properly and I altered the temperature and time. I also removed the lemon zest completely and then reintroduced it at a much lower quantity ( 1/4 tsp). At this point I have made this over a dozen times and while the time and temperature seem accurate (they are golden and have the little mound) at 375 for 9 minutes, they are still incredibly dense and dry. I'm not sure how to avoid this since everything but the lemon zest is in normal quantities and I have altered the beating time from 3 minutes to 5 to 10. They remain a bit dry. My husband and daughter love them but I'd like them to be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Touch of Bliss
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Super easy to make and tastes so yummyyy!! Everybody in my family enjoyed them as well;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States