French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Selma Rumohr
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and I would've rather had less lemon, more vanilla, and not so chewy...did I do something wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicolec79
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Photo by kakinfo2
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Absolutely deliiiiicious!!! This recipe is perfect the way it is. Two tips: everyone's oven is different so watch the oven to make sure you don't over bake. 10 mins was perfect for mine. Once you see the sides start to brown, it's time to take it out of the oven. Also, I beat for a full 10 mins, the longer you beat the lighter your cookies will be. I love this! t was light, it was airy. I ate the whole batch right out the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ive
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Just did the recipe . Posted two photos. First madeleines, so they turned out pretty good maybe a little bit "dense" for my taste, I was expecting fluffier madeleines. But again these are my firsts.The first batch didn't get the "bump" but then the last batch came out with the "bump" so I was thinking maybe the batter needs to "rest for a couple of minutes, but then I don't know. Needing here some expert advise, by the way I read the some of the reviews before making them. Anyway I am going to try the recipe again some other time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aguadilla, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Ever since I found this recipe I have been using it and tweaking it to try and perfect it. At first I thought my oven wasn't working properly and I altered the temperature and time. I also removed the lemon zest completely and then reintroduced it at a much lower quantity ( 1/4 tsp). At this point I have made this over a dozen times and while the time and temperature seem accurate (they are golden and have the little mound) at 375 for 9 minutes, they are still incredibly dense and dry. I'm not sure how to avoid this since everything but the lemon zest is in normal quantities and I have altered the beating time from 3 minutes to 5 to 10. They remain a bit dry. My husband and daughter love them but I'd like them to be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Touch of Bliss
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Super easy to make and tastes so yummyyy!! Everybody in my family enjoyed them as well;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by louisestephenson
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Great recipe!! Except it needs NO more than 12 minutes in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
These are Great the recipe is very good, I had an old recipe from a french friend but I lost it. I just want to write that I read a review and it said that Madeleines are not supposed to be light and airy but dense like Starbucks I just want to say that they are WRONG the actual recipe is that they supposed to be light and fluffy and I give 5 stars for you because of that , bravo !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibtisan
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This recipe was easy to follow and the madeleines came out light and airy . A number of reviews said that the madeleines tasted eggy so I increased my vanilla to 1 teaspoon.I used silicon moulds and greased and floured them well so the madeleines came out easily. So irresistible that I had 3 as soon as they came out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I altered this to be gluten free with very good results. I used 1/4 c. King Arthur gluten free flour and 1/4 c. Almond meal with a pinch of xanthan gum and sifted them together before adding to the batter. I think bringing the eggs to room temp first would help make the batter thicker when beating and be a little quicker. Baked for 14 minutes which was just right. The taste was excellent. Now I can have a little cake that is easy to make! I sprinkled with organic sugar as I wasn't sure exactly what was meant by granulated sugar, regular or powdered?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States