French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Ever since I found this recipe I have been using it and tweaking it to try and perfect it. At first I thought my oven wasn't working properly and I altered the temperature and time. I also removed the lemon zest completely and then reintroduced it at a much lower quantity ( 1/4 tsp). At this point I have made this over a dozen times and while the time and temperature seem accurate (they are golden and have the little mound) at 375 for 9 minutes, they are still incredibly dense and dry. I'm not sure how to avoid this since everything but the lemon zest is in normal quantities and I have altered the beating time from 3 minutes to 5 to 10. They remain a bit dry. My husband and daughter love them but I'd like them to be perfect. Any suggestions on how I can make them light and airy and moist?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Touch of Bliss
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Super easy to make and tastes so yummyyy!! Everybody in my family enjoyed them as well;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by louisestephenson
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Great recipe!! Except it needs NO more than 12 minutes in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
These are Great the recipe is very good, I had an old recipe from a french friend but I lost it. I just want to write that I read a review and it said that Madeleines are not supposed to be light and airy but dense like Starbucks I just want to say that they are WRONG the actual recipe is that they supposed to be light and fluffy and I give 5 stars for you because of that , bravo !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibtisan
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This recipe was easy to follow and the madeleines came out light and airy . A number of reviews said that the madeleines tasted eggy so I increased my vanilla to 1 teaspoon.I used silicon moulds and greased and floured them well so the madeleines came out easily. So irresistible that I had 3 as soon as they came out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I altered this to be gluten free with very good results. I used 1/4 c. King Arthur gluten free flour and 1/4 c. Almond meal with a pinch of xanthan gum and sifted them together before adding to the batter. I think bringing the eggs to room temp first would help make the batter thicker when beating and be a little quicker. Baked for 14 minutes which was just right. The taste was excellent. Now I can have a little cake that is easy to make! I sprinkled with organic sugar as I wasn't sure exactly what was meant by granulated sugar, regular or powdered?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SmellsLikeRoses
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Great recipe, but too sweet for my taste. I'd cut back down the sugar to 1/4 cup maybe less. My madeleines came out sorta burned when I did 375 for 14 minutes, I think that's way too hot. I'd use 350 degrees next time for 14 mins. It's sorta like a sponge cake cookie but it's a good copy cat Madeleine. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmellsLikeRoses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Terrific recipe! The only thing that I changed was cutting back on the butter a little, and I dipped the finished cookies in melted milk chocolate. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was my first time making these and they were super delicious. My kids loved them! I'm so glad I now know how to make them and will be doing so more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I love these sponge cookies!! So delicious and they have such a soft, fluffy and lightly sweet taste great with tea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States