French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Easy and precise. For those who have similar questions like me. You need a madeleines pan. I got mine at Bed bath and beyond. I used muffins pan earlier and it was a disaster. If you wonder whether baking powder is needed like in other recipe, and the answer is no. Make sure the eggs mix is thick before you fold in flour and butter, it took about 10 minutes at high speed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
These were superb, and I have to disagree with the reviewer who said a good Madeleine should be dense and buttery (like the ones from Starbucks). Have you ever had a REAL French Madeleine? They're lighter than air. Starbucks serves very nice molded pound cakes, NOT Madeleines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I am a real beginner, but I had no trouble with this recipe at all. The hard part, actually, was selecting a madeleine pan - there were many different ones to choose from at the cooking supply store, from $10.00 - $79.00, depending on size and material. I bought the $10.00 metal one (which makes one dozen 3" madeleines), and it worked absolutely fine. So no need to spend a fortune to get good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Hills, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
These are the best madeleines I have ever made. This was the pastry that Marcel Proust enjoyed for inspiration - and it seems to have worked for him! The only problem with the recipe is that it yields so few of the cookies. I doubled the recipe last time and I only made about 16 servings. My madeleine pan is a little bit larger, but still, the cookies were gone in less than fifteen minutes. Usually a good thing, but I had wanted to enjoy a couple later. I added a touch of honey and I thought it turned out to be phenomenal. Good luck and thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xiaocupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I used part cake flour (about one third of the total) owing to a Cook's Illustrated recipe and I added 1/4tsp orange flower water. They were heavenly. And they looked so perfect that they could have come from a bakery. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Perfect recipe!! Whole family loved these delicate cookies. I bought my pan a year ago and finally made madeleines. Like other reviewer said, no need to by expensive non stick pan, grease and flour as directed and they pop out fine. I even greased and dusted with sugar instead of flour, worked great. These are authentic in taste, light and airy. If you want dense ones (like what starbucks sells), you can double the butter; but then you are really eating mini pound cakes, not madeleines. I had to beat the eggs/sugar mixture the full 10 minutes. I think this is the first recipe I reviewed that was 100% accurate and did not need one thing changed to perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
THESE WERE GREAT! I made them for my social studies class and they loved them. I did the chocolate version. They are delicious, light, fluffy, and perfect in general. MMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
I love these. I have made them many times, and they always turn out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLASTRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I have never been tempted to review a great recipe... until now!! I'm not crazy about desserts but this is the first sweet treat I have experienced love at first bite in a long time. I'm am also no big on sliced cake or cupcakes. Madeleines are the best for portion control. These little cakes are the lightest, airiest, tastiest things. Do not use anymore flour than suggested, this is the biggest mistake. You want to taste eggy, buttery, vanillary, light and not dense and floury. If you do not have an electric mixer, or are too lazy to whip them for 10 minutes, you can put 1/4 tsp of baking powder. Mine come out perfectly light and airy. I added more sugar and vanilla than suggested, and it was perfectly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Wonderful recipe. The instructions were good and easy to follow. I've never had or made a Madeleine before but this recipe will change all that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States