French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Well, I just finished eating some of my 1st attempt at this recipe. For the record, I used 1 tsp. of vanilla and only 1/2 tbsp. of lemon zest. Next time I will definitely use more zest or add lemon extract as the flavor is too faint for my taste buds. I got 18 madeleines out of this recipe. Something to consider for those of you who don't have more than one pan available. The cakes were ready after 12 minutes in my convection oven and the texture was light and spongy. I will definitely be trying this recipe again, but with more zest or extract for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Mmmmm!I've had a madeleine pan for years, but this is the first time I've used it. My pan is nonstick but I still buttered it. I experimented, coating half the pans with flour, and half with confectioners sugar. It honestly didn't seem to make a difference. Also, I was baking these for a group of picky eaters, so I left out the lemon zest, and increased the vanilla to 1/2 TBSP! These were light, fluffy, and looked amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
i only had a mini madeleine baking sheet and it made it very difficult to work with. they tasted good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Best so far, very light and airy. I've tried many recipes for these cookies. I think I may stop here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
easy to make, but you do need the special pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Love the taste but think they cooked too long at 14 minutes. Will try again and check at 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
These madelines turned out perfectly!! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the vanilla extract - I put a full teaspoon of vanilla. I'm a big fan of the Starbucks madelines & was pleased with how similar these are! They were more lemony than Starbucks but a similar density & texture. Loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These were yummy, but they easily broke the first day. They seemed to firm up after that. Maybe I should have cooked them an extra minute. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States