French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
These have great flavor. I added tiny chocolate chips and tipped the cake with melted chocolate. They were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Thank you for making our work easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Very, very light, moist and tasty! Super easy to make. They were a hit at my son's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I have never been tempted to review a great recipe... until now!! I'm not crazy about desserts but this is the first sweet treat I have experienced love at first bite in a long time. I'm am also no big on sliced cake or cupcakes. Madeleines are the best for portion control. These little cakes are the lightest, airiest, tastiest things. Do not use anymore flour than suggested, this is the biggest mistake. You want to taste eggy, buttery, vanillary, light and not dense and floury. If you do not have an electric mixer, or are too lazy to whip them for 10 minutes, you can put 1/4 tsp of baking powder. Mine come out perfectly light and airy. I added more sugar and vanilla than suggested, and it was perfectly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I am an amateur and found this recipe very easy and useful. To the previous reviewer who said that they used muffin pans and had a disaster, Im not sure what happened, but I used a muffin pan(with paper liners) and only dolloped 1 heaping tablespoon of batter into each cup. This yielded 2 batches of 12 Madeleine half-cupcakes which my girlfriend and roommates loved. Hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
oooh so airy! and fluffy! definitly bake for no more than 10mins..i doubled the recipe and it made exaclty 24 madeleines..i sprinkle confectioners sugar right after taking them out of the oven and that was perfect! very easy to make i did it with the "help" of my very excited 4 year old daughter..and they still came out great..she is enjoying a couple right now ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Well, I just finished eating some of my 1st attempt at this recipe. For the record, I used 1 tsp. of vanilla and only 1/2 tbsp. of lemon zest. Next time I will definitely use more zest or add lemon extract as the flavor is too faint for my taste buds. I got 18 madeleines out of this recipe. Something to consider for those of you who don't have more than one pan available. The cakes were ready after 12 minutes in my convection oven and the texture was light and spongy. I will definitely be trying this recipe again, but with more zest or extract for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Mmmmm!I've had a madeleine pan for years, but this is the first time I've used it. My pan is nonstick but I still buttered it. I experimented, coating half the pans with flour, and half with confectioners sugar. It honestly didn't seem to make a difference. Also, I was baking these for a group of picky eaters, so I left out the lemon zest, and increased the vanilla to 1/2 TBSP! These were light, fluffy, and looked amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
i only had a mini madeleine baking sheet and it made it very difficult to work with. they tasted good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States