French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by louisestephenson
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Great recipe!! Except it needs NO more than 12 minutes in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
These are Great the recipe is very good, I had an old recipe from a french friend but I lost it. I just want to write that I read a review and it said that Madeleines are not supposed to be light and airy but dense like Starbucks I just want to say that they are WRONG the actual recipe is that they supposed to be light and fluffy and I give 5 stars for you because of that , bravo !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibtisan
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This recipe was easy to follow and the madeleines came out light and airy . A number of reviews said that the madeleines tasted eggy so I increased my vanilla to 1 teaspoon.I used silicon moulds and greased and floured them well so the madeleines came out easily. So irresistible that I had 3 as soon as they came out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I altered this to be gluten free with very good results. I used 1/4 c. King Arthur gluten free flour and 1/4 c. Almond meal with a pinch of xanthan gum and sifted them together before adding to the batter. I think bringing the eggs to room temp first would help make the batter thicker when beating and be a little quicker. Baked for 14 minutes which was just right. The taste was excellent. Now I can have a little cake that is easy to make! I sprinkled with organic sugar as I wasn't sure exactly what was meant by granulated sugar, regular or powdered?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SmellsLikeRoses
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Great recipe, but too sweet for my taste. I'd cut back down the sugar to 1/4 cup maybe less. My madeleines came out sorta burned when I did 375 for 14 minutes, I think that's way too hot. I'd use 350 degrees next time for 14 mins. It's sorta like a sponge cake cookie but it's a good copy cat Madeleine. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmellsLikeRoses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Terrific recipe! The only thing that I changed was cutting back on the butter a little, and I dipped the finished cookies in melted milk chocolate. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was my first time making these and they were super delicious. My kids loved them! I'm so glad I now know how to make them and will be doing so more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I love these sponge cookies!! So delicious and they have such a soft, fluffy and lightly sweet taste great with tea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This recipe was so easy to make and they came out tasting so delicious! Definitely do NOT skimp on buttering and flouring the pan before pouring the batter in. Also I would bake them at 350 degrees next time and only for 5-6 minutes. I ended up slightly burning my batch because I thought it would take 14-17 minutes.. of course every oven is different, but that much of a time difference?? Make sure to closely monitor them! And madeleines are supposed to be light and spongey… please don't compare Starbucks "pastries" to this recipe; thats why you have to whip the eggs at the beginning until light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
As a beginner, this was simple and produced delicious results. I doubled the amount of lemon zest to get a little more lemony flavor, and quite enjoyed it. The "gentle folding" was more like careful stirring in my experience. Made 12 large-ish Madeleines and 6 smaller ones, so there is some extra. Baking time actually took a total of less than 10 minutes in my oven. Be sure to add extra butter to the pan, as my Madeleines were reluctant to leave their indentations. Proustian and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States