French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This was a good recipe. Very delicious. Used caster (superfine) sugar instead of regular sugar but next time I will just use the regular sugar. It may have been a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mejdev

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
These cookies taste fantastic however the cooking time needs to be reduced if done at 375. The first time I made them, I baked at the directed time and the cookies came out burned to a crisp! The second time, I reduced to 350 and baked for 10 minutes. The cookies turned out much better that 2nd time and still with the perfect little lump on the back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OMGitsJen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
My daughter and I love the madeleines from Starbucks because of their dense buttery yumminess and I have to say this recipe didn't disappoint after some tweaking to the recipe. I doubled the recipe, added an extra 1/4c butter, omitted the lemon zest and replaced it with 1 t almond extract otherwise I followed the recipe except adjusting bake time to 11 min exactly because I didn't have a Madeleine pan so I used a non-stick mini cupcake sheet that I did butter and flour just to be on the safe side and they came out perfectly and then sprinkled white granulated sugar on them and voilà delicious bite-sized madeleines!!! They did have a slight eggy smell & taste, however, after they cooled a bit it dissipated. Excited about trying the chocolate version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I am so bad at baking. But this recipe was perfect. I like my madeleines sweet so I added 1/2c instead of the 1/3c asked for. They turned out so good and soft and yummy. thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Just a suggestion...I have tried two types of pans--the traditional aluminum version and the non-stick. I suggest the non-stick version and reduce cooking temp by 25 degrees. The madeleines stuck in the traditional pan in spite of greasing the "shells." Cakes pop right out of non-stick pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I have made Madeleines multiple times, and enjoy trying new recipes now and then.I have only one comment/recomendation... I doubled the recipe and all of them present too much of an egg taste. They are stil rich and buttery, but I believe you need to seperate 1-2 egg yolks in the recipe. So, one wole egg and one yolk for a standard batch and so on and so forth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I love this recipe! It is so easy to make and comes out so good. I just double the recipe as the original doesnt make enough for me. Its best fresh and hot out of the oven, but its good the next day warmed up too. I love the lemon zest and added a little more than the recipe called for. This was super easy and I followed the recipe and overall the time took less than 30min to make from batter to mouth. I used a madeline pan from William Sonoma and just sprayed Pam on the pan and floured just slightly. Had no problem with it sticking. Made it for friends and they thought it was the best madelines they had ever had, better than most restaurants and bakeries even!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I was glad this recipe had a video to follow. These Madeleines came out fragrant and dense, sort of like a little bite of pound cake. They tested done with a toothpick at 11 minutes, so I would suggest to check them at around 10 minutes. They were pale, but definitely done. I made them the day before Christmas Eve, and froze them when they were cool, as we were not going to have them till the day after Christmas and I was afraid they would get stale if I left them on the counter for 3 days. They are great dunked into hot coffee, as the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very easy to follow and they turned out beautifully. In my oven it needed only 12 minutes so for your first batch watch them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States