French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Very Good. Used my kitchen aid mixture. Did not fold in flour and zest. Just threw it in and blended it a little. Update: 1/1/10 I would definitely recommend folding in the zest and flour. It will allow your batter to stay fluffy. My daughter and I visited the French Pastry School in Chicago and were taught how to make them. The key is to butter and flour every nook and cranny of the madeleine pan, so they come out perfectly shaped showing those deep ridges. If you get the belly bump, that's considered perfect. I never knew that, I thought they were incorrectly done if you had a bump. Well, those are tips straight from the horses mouth. Oh, I used a metal pan from Sur La Table. I'm one of those people who are wary of these non-stick/silicone/caphalon pans/cooking utensils. Its more work, but our grandparents did it, so can we!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Wonderful buttery treats. My 2, 6 and 9 year old kids love them. They don't last long around our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Great recipe! Easy to make but pay attention to the directions--extended beating of the eggs gives great airiness. These are really delicious and easy to make. I did not bother to dust with powdered sugar, they were good enough without the gilding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I made both the original and the chocolate version. I forgot the butter in the chocolate version and it still came out pretty good. :) Make sure you start w/ a good egg foam or you won't get the nice spongy texture. Delicious... and I finally got to use the madeleine pan I brought back from France!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
The recipe was very easy to follow (easier than finding the Madeline pans...Wilton Pro at select BB&Bs). I used eggbeaters instead of eggs, since that was what I had (I very rarely have real eggs on hand.) So, I'm not sure how much that affected the outcome. I doubled the recipe and came out one short of filling my two trays. The cooking time was shortened to around 12 minutes...which I think may have been too long as they came out pretty dense. They were very eggy smelling and tasting. I think they would be an excellent savory item with a little modification. Other than the eggbeaters, I followed the recipe except for the lemon zest (not a fan of lemon flavoring.) The Madelines were edible and I would try the recipe again, but maybe with some of my own modifications and the use of real eggs instead of eggbeaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I've fallen in love with madeleines ever since my favorite coffee shop started to sell them (albeit only on the weekends). I realized I needed another source so I bought a madeleine pan by chicago metallic ($15). The chocolate version is AMAZING. We had to ration how many we could eat per day. I will try baking an almond version next (1 tsp? of almond extract subbed for zest and vanilla). We will see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
My 14-year-old daughter and I made these for her French class project. They were easy to do and tasted great! However, we made a double batch and the first dozen were light and airy and tasted better than the second dozen because the batter sat until the first batch came out of the oven. The batter settles too much and makes the cake more dense. Next time, I would make the batches separate even if it is more work. Very tasty recipe. We will make them again for eating at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berry Blessed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Not my favourite madeleine recipe, but tasty! Depending on how long you keep them in the oven, they can come out either dense or light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Great recipe, but, use almond extract, instead of vanilla, and omit the lemon zest. Had these in France, and that was how they tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is a great madeleine recipe! Good directions! I used Pam baking spray and it worked nicely. I love that it makes just the right amount for one madeleine pan. I tried both the chocolate and regular varieties and they are both delicious. Delicate and light as madeleines should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States