French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This was a delicious recipe with excellent texture. I made the chocolate variant. One thing I did note was that they came out VERY ugly; they didn't hold the shape of the shell mold at all and pretty much just look like flat stones. I'm willing to take the blame for that, though. Pretty or not, these had a slightly crispy shell and the insides were completely light-as-air and melt-in-your mouth. DELICIOUS! It was almost like eating meringue in cake form. Next time I make these I will try to fix the shape and update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Perfect except cook them only 9 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Margarita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Redondo, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
These were delightful and very easy to make. I used a non- stick madeleine pan and followed the directions as given. They baked in about 8 minutes. I am bringing them as refreshments tonight to a program on Monet's Garden - very appropriate. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
only makes one batch, but i only have one pan so it all works out. The chocolate ones are everyone's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Of all the recipes, I chose to try this Madeleine first, based on reviews (though other photos were better). These are VERY FUN TO MAKE, which is great! I felt like a fancy-pants. And they taste wonderful! I beat the egg-sugar mixture for ages, as was recommended. Everything else to a 'T'. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
What a fab recipe!! I spent 9 months in Paris and these Madeleines are the real thing! They are just great! When I make them, they are wolfed down within minutes and I get complaints that I don't make enough! I bought the Madeleine pan from Fenwicks, was a pan for 12. The pan is like rubber which is really good, when you want to take the Madeleines out they pop out which I think is a lot easier than using a metal pan! If you are looking for Madeleines, MAKE THESE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonietta

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgware, Middlesex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
These were superb, and I have to disagree with the reviewer who said a good Madeleine should be dense and buttery (like the ones from Starbucks). Have you ever had a REAL French Madeleine? They're lighter than air. Starbucks serves very nice molded pound cakes, NOT Madeleines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I am a real beginner, but I had no trouble with this recipe at all. The hard part, actually, was selecting a madeleine pan - there were many different ones to choose from at the cooking supply store, from $10.00 - $79.00, depending on size and material. I bought the $10.00 metal one (which makes one dozen 3" madeleines), and it worked absolutely fine. So no need to spend a fortune to get good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Hills, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Delicious! I usually add a little more butter. I bake them every week. My family and friends enjoy them a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I used a Wilton dark-brown non-stick pan and this came out perfectly when baked for 11 minutes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States