French Butter Cakes (Madeleines) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
My 14-year-old daughter and I made these for her French class project. They were easy to do and tasted great! However, we made a double batch and the first dozen were light and airy and tasted better than the second dozen because the batter sat until the first batch came out of the oven. The batter settles too much and makes the cake more dense. Next time, I would make the batches separate even if it is more work. Very tasty recipe. We will make them again for eating at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berry Blessed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Not my favourite madeleine recipe, but tasty! Depending on how long you keep them in the oven, they can come out either dense or light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Great recipe, but, use almond extract, instead of vanilla, and omit the lemon zest. Had these in France, and that was how they tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is a great madeleine recipe! Good directions! I used Pam baking spray and it worked nicely. I love that it makes just the right amount for one madeleine pan. I tried both the chocolate and regular varieties and they are both delicious. Delicate and light as madeleines should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This was a delicious recipe with excellent texture. I made the chocolate variant. One thing I did note was that they came out VERY ugly; they didn't hold the shape of the shell mold at all and pretty much just look like flat stones. I'm willing to take the blame for that, though. Pretty or not, these had a slightly crispy shell and the insides were completely light-as-air and melt-in-your mouth. DELICIOUS! It was almost like eating meringue in cake form. Next time I make these I will try to fix the shape and update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Perfect except cook them only 9 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Margarita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Redondo, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
These were delightful and very easy to make. I used a non- stick madeleine pan and followed the directions as given. They baked in about 8 minutes. I am bringing them as refreshments tonight to a program on Monet's Garden - very appropriate. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
only makes one batch, but i only have one pan so it all works out. The chocolate ones are everyone's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Of all the recipes, I chose to try this Madeleine first, based on reviews (though other photos were better). These are VERY FUN TO MAKE, which is great! I felt like a fancy-pants. And they taste wonderful! I beat the egg-sugar mixture for ages, as was recommended. Everything else to a 'T'. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
What a fab recipe!! I spent 9 months in Paris and these Madeleines are the real thing! They are just great! When I make them, they are wolfed down within minutes and I get complaints that I don't make enough! I bought the Madeleine pan from Fenwicks, was a pan for 12. The pan is like rubber which is really good, when you want to take the Madeleines out they pop out which I think is a lot easier than using a metal pan! If you are looking for Madeleines, MAKE THESE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonietta

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgware, Middlesex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States