French Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
We have updated this recipe to include a second rising time after the loaf is formed. We have also added ingredients for the egg wash to the ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Loved this recipe! instead of making a challah like loaf, i made little rolls shaped like traditional brioche. To do this, i set aside a sixth of the dough. The rest of the dough i divided into 12 pieces, rolled into balls, and then put in a cupcake/muffin pan. I split the sectioned dough into 12 pieces, rolling each of the pieces into a small ball. I then made an indent on top of the rolls and put a small ball in each. I baked these 17 minutes instead of 20 and they came out perfectly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissCheerio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
change 1/2 teaspoon to 2 teaspoons active dry yeast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I used this brioche recipe to make a recipe from the food network show Barefoot Contessa called Summer Pudding. I made the brioche twice and found that I preferred using a little more sugar and 2 teaspoons of yeast. For the summer pudding, I made a syrup with a couple packages of fresh frozen mixed berries, water, corn starch and brandy extract, then layered it with slices of de-crusted brioche, weighted it and set it overnight. The results were spectacular! I served this at my neice's baby blessing reception to rave reviews. Since the majority of the moisture in the dough comes from fat, the brioche makes the pudding rich and utterly delicious. I wouldn't recommend eating brioche plain, but in a dessert or with a stew, amazing! Great job, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRADYSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Ohio, USA
Photo by cyril
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This is a great recipe to mix in breadmaker and then braid by hand. The extra dry yeast definitely helps and a teaspoon of salt also improves the balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyril

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
FANTASTIC!!!! I've been looking for this exact dough recipe for years!! And finally....success!! What a wonderfully tender dough! I used this dough to make sticky buns and they were by far the best homemade sticky buns I have ever eaten. Even my husband says that they rival those you can find in a great bakery. I look forward to making this dough plain to make breakfast rolls that cream cheese & jam can be spread on. Very versitile and yummy!! You won't be disapointed!! The bread machine makes this especially easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I also increased the yeast to 2 tsp. This bread works out wonderfully in a bread machine. Mine is an older Breadman. It is very soft and just a lovely. The dough is easy to work with and easy to braid. Thanks to whomever posted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was an awesome hit at New Years. I made this bread, then my husband made french toast out of it. WOW! I received a bread machine as a gift and there were very few recipes listed so I went on line to find some. This is a great website and I have not found a bad recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This bread is the one I make all the time now. I like it a little sweeter, so I increased the sugar to 1/3 cup and use 1 full packet of active dry yeast. This recipe makes a VERY large loaf, so I just cut the dough in half and then make two braided loaves from it. Excellent brioche. You must try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Lane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I just tried a piece of this moments after it came out of the oven and it's heavenly! I can only hope that it will hold up until breakfast tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States