French Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I followed this to a T. It never rose. Too hard and crusty, but still raw inside..I give it 3 stars, bc maybe it was me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I just tried a piece of this moments after it came out of the oven and it's heavenly! I can only hope that it will hold up until breakfast tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This bread is the one I make all the time now. I like it a little sweeter, so I increased the sugar to 1/3 cup and use 1 full packet of active dry yeast. This recipe makes a VERY large loaf, so I just cut the dough in half and then make two braided loaves from it. Excellent brioche. You must try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Lane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was an awesome hit at New Years. I made this bread, then my husband made french toast out of it. WOW! I received a bread machine as a gift and there were very few recipes listed so I went on line to find some. This is a great website and I have not found a bad recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made this recipe with the alterations others suggested, but think this recipe would be good with less sugar and yeast as well. It depends on whether you like your brioche sweet or eggy. Personally, I like it sweet enough to just eat, so the alterations worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I also increased the yeast to 2 tsp. This bread works out wonderfully in a bread machine. Mine is an older Breadman. It is very soft and just a lovely. The dough is easy to work with and easy to braid. Thanks to whomever posted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I baked this bread for my family this Christmas, after they had been to France. A local in France had told them that "if you have ham, you must have brioche". This recipe, according to them, was just like the bread they ate there. I used the machine for the whole process by choosing the "Basic" setting on my machine and a "Medium" crust darkness. Very rich and lovely bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Loved this recipe! instead of making a challah like loaf, i made little rolls shaped like traditional brioche. To do this, i set aside a sixth of the dough. The rest of the dough i divided into 12 pieces, rolled into balls, and then put in a cupcake/muffin pan. I split the sectioned dough into 12 pieces, rolling each of the pieces into a small ball. I then made an indent on top of the rolls and put a small ball in each. I baked these 17 minutes instead of 20 and they came out perfectly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissCheerio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This was good. I added more yeast and more sugar and I still thought I could have added more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
We have updated this recipe to include a second rising time after the loaf is formed. We have also added ingredients for the egg wash to the ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States