French Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
have no idea where did i go wrong.. too oily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This turned out very heavy and didn't raise properly. I used new yeast and followed the directions. It was nothing like the brioche we purchased on a regular basis while living in England.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang Avers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Called for too much butter- when I took the dough out of the breadmaker it was dripping with butter. I soaked up the excess and followed the rest of the recipe and it wasnt a total waste of ingredients but it didnt taste like authentic brioche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sofiesmagick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I increased baking time and also increased the yeast to 2tbsp and increased baking time to30 to 35 min. Otherwise good flavor used this for making french toast. BY Rose-Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Altona, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
AWESOME !! Family loved it. A definate keeper. I did make the changes others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This came out flat as a pancake. I'm not sure what the problem is? Too little yeast? All-purpose flour instead of bread flour? How are people getting this recipe to work?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is an awesome recipe! Yummy bread and goes fast at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
If your dough seems dry, don't be afraid to hydrate with a little extra water, it wont hurt the dough. Also, Make sure to let the dough rise once for about an hour before shaping it. I would recommend folding the dough at 30 minutes to degas the dough and distribute heat evenly. To fold, turn the dough out onto a floured table and bring the left side two thirds across the dough giving it a slight stretch and patting to down. Next, bring the right side all the way to the edge of the left side (think letter fold), again giving the dough a slight tug as you bring it across. Repeat the same fold from top to bottom. Return the dough to the mixing bowl and let sit for remaining 30 minutes. When egg washing. I would not add water to the whites. This will only dilute your wash mixture and you will not get as pretty of a shine. When baking, you want the final crust color to be more brown then golden. Try baking at a bit higher of a temperature (375) The dough will start to take on a beautiful rusted color. However, the inside will still be a delicious pale golden. a variation I like to do with this dough is roll it out flat, spread marscapone cheese that has been mixed with a little sugar and citrus flavoring over the center third, then layer strawberries and blueberries on top. fold the outer two thirds over the center. brush with whites and sprinkle with sparkling or cane sugar and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Easy to make and very, very good. I needed it to make a dessert that called for brioche (and where does one find that?). Of the recipes I found on here, this one had the best sounding reviews and I must concur with them. Great with jam, great with butter (not that you need it), and great as a meal side. Great the second, third and fourth days, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Please note first... I increased yeast to 2 tsps and added 1 tsp of salt. That said! What a fabulous recipe! I decided to make sticky buns out of it and they rock! After forming them, I let them rise covered in plastic for 2 hours before baking and they came out light, tender and fluffy. Thank you Linda for your inspiration. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States