French Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
AWESOME !! Family loved it. A definate keeper. I did make the changes others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This came out flat as a pancake. I'm not sure what the problem is? Too little yeast? All-purpose flour instead of bread flour? How are people getting this recipe to work?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is an awesome recipe! Yummy bread and goes fast at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
If your dough seems dry, don't be afraid to hydrate with a little extra water, it wont hurt the dough. Also, Make sure to let the dough rise once for about an hour before shaping it. I would recommend folding the dough at 30 minutes to degas the dough and distribute heat evenly. To fold, turn the dough out onto a floured table and bring the left side two thirds across the dough giving it a slight stretch and patting to down. Next, bring the right side all the way to the edge of the left side (think letter fold), again giving the dough a slight tug as you bring it across. Repeat the same fold from top to bottom. Return the dough to the mixing bowl and let sit for remaining 30 minutes. When egg washing. I would not add water to the whites. This will only dilute your wash mixture and you will not get as pretty of a shine. When baking, you want the final crust color to be more brown then golden. Try baking at a bit higher of a temperature (375) The dough will start to take on a beautiful rusted color. However, the inside will still be a delicious pale golden. a variation I like to do with this dough is roll it out flat, spread marscapone cheese that has been mixed with a little sugar and citrus flavoring over the center third, then layer strawberries and blueberries on top. fold the outer two thirds over the center. brush with whites and sprinkle with sparkling or cane sugar and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Easy to make and very, very good. I needed it to make a dessert that called for brioche (and where does one find that?). Of the recipes I found on here, this one had the best sounding reviews and I must concur with them. Great with jam, great with butter (not that you need it), and great as a meal side. Great the second, third and fourth days, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Please note first... I increased yeast to 2 tsps and added 1 tsp of salt. That said! What a fabulous recipe! I decided to make sticky buns out of it and they rock! After forming them, I let them rise covered in plastic for 2 hours before baking and they came out light, tender and fluffy. Thank you Linda for your inspiration. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
WOW! Very nice bread! Made the changes as mentioned in the other reviews IE 1t of salt, 2t's of active dry yeast, almost double the sugar, and did the second rise after I braided the loaves (doubled the recipe and made two huge loaves!). Took them to a French themed cooking club dinner last night and all the bread was gone in no time! For the 2 loaves I used 3/4c of sugar and it was right on for me. A big yes for adding salt also. I can't imagine this with out salt! I let the loaves proof for about 30 minutes and had fantastic oven spring! Only problem I had was my fault. I didn't work the dough out to a long enough length nor fast enough and the loaf came out very wide and the braids didn't stick real good during the bake an thus fell apart once in a while when the bread was cut. No big deal as it made it a little easier to put on the your plate. This is a rich recipe and will make it again. I think I'm going to make "Clone of Cinnabon" from this site with this dough next week! Can't have too many "fat pills" in the house! HELP ME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Photo by VALENZANO
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This turned out beautifully. I used 1/2 bread flour because I ran out of APF, and unsalted butter, so it could have used more salt. Which basically means it will be better the next time and it was pretty darn good already with the subs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I subbed wheat flour for 1/3 of the flour and increased the yeast to 2tsp as others ad suggested and it came out great. Also added extra rise time after forming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I did everything perfect, as directed. If you like Eggs and bread all in one, then this is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States