French Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scott Crosthwaite
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Great recipe. Modded it and used it for pastries. Still need to perfect that. But I'm close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Crosthwaite
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Made this bread today. I started out in the bread machine I've had for 10 years, was still sealed in box. Let it do all the work, with the changes described about adding more sugar and yeast and it came out perfect. So happy right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I added an extra egg and make two small braided loaves with this. The second loaf didn't get eaten so I made mushroom dressing with it. Now that was amazing! I will have to make this bread just to have that dressing again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This turned out really good. I actually shaped it into buns. I'm happy to find another good one for the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mclifford973

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made this especially to use in french toast. My loaves didn't rise well. I did use the bread machine. The taste was good, so i'm going to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Lovely the bread indeed. Used 2 teaspoons of dry yeast and doubled the amount of water (1/3 x 2) mentioned in the recipe. Also put 1/2 a cup of castor sugar. It came out lovely and the taste is to die for. Thankyou!!! London
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
have no idea where did i go wrong.. too oily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This turned out very heavy and didn't raise properly. I used new yeast and followed the directions. It was nothing like the brioche we purchased on a regular basis while living in England.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang Avers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Called for too much butter- when I took the dough out of the breadmaker it was dripping with butter. I soaked up the excess and followed the rest of the recipe and it wasnt a total waste of ingredients but it didnt taste like authentic brioche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sofiesmagick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I increased baking time and also increased the yeast to 2tbsp and increased baking time to30 to 35 min. Otherwise good flavor used this for making french toast. BY Rose-Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Altona, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States