French Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by cyril
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This is a great recipe to mix in breadmaker and then braid by hand. The extra dry yeast definitely helps and a teaspoon of salt also improves the balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyril

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Too eggy to eat plain but made a great bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I also increased the sugar and yeast and added a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the dough. It was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
too eggy tasting for me, although my husband liked the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I used this brioche recipe to make a recipe from the food network show Barefoot Contessa called Summer Pudding. I made the brioche twice and found that I preferred using a little more sugar and 2 teaspoons of yeast. For the summer pudding, I made a syrup with a couple packages of fresh frozen mixed berries, water, corn starch and brandy extract, then layered it with slices of de-crusted brioche, weighted it and set it overnight. The results were spectacular! I served this at my neice's baby blessing reception to rave reviews. Since the majority of the moisture in the dough comes from fat, the brioche makes the pudding rich and utterly delicious. I wouldn't recommend eating brioche plain, but in a dessert or with a stew, amazing! Great job, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRADYSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Great recipe for Breadmaker, makes brioche soooo easy. I did increase the Yeast slightly and added very finely grated Lemon Zest. Makes a wonderful Tea Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
Takes a while to make, but tastes delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
change 1/2 teaspoon to 2 teaspoons active dry yeast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States