French Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
It seems there is an error in the list of ingredients. I am wondering if the 1/2 tsp yeast was meant to be 1/2 tsp salt and the amt of yeast should be about 2 tsp or one packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
YUM!!! This was tender, buttery, delicious! I'm a total novice, and it was easy to make. I plan to give these out for Christmas presents along with some special preserves. I've been using this site for years, and this is the first time I've ever reviewed a recipe. I HAD to! It's awesome!!!! I can't wait until tomorrow, when I can use it for french toast. Thanks SO much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I really liked this as did my family. I read the reviews and decided to use 1 pkg of yeast, tsp of salt and doubled the sugar. I then made it into one big loaf. Here is where I ran into problems (my own). I really should have divided the dough into two loaves because I had a HUGE loaf of bread. I baked it for a total of 35 minutes having covered it with foil after 20. I also used my kitchenaid to mix this. Again, very good and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Lovely soft bread with thick crisp crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Fabulous! Added 2tsp yeast and double the sugar as others suggested. Let rise over an hour before putting in oven. I put this in a tall baking dish which I use for casseroles to cook. If you do this, put a pan on rack above and below to prevent burning. (more info on this Beautiful crusty topped brioche with perfect center. Not too sweet at all. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I followed this to a T. It never rose. Too hard and crusty, but still raw inside..I give it 3 stars, bc maybe it was me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I just tried a piece of this moments after it came out of the oven and it's heavenly! I can only hope that it will hold up until breakfast tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This bread is the one I make all the time now. I like it a little sweeter, so I increased the sugar to 1/3 cup and use 1 full packet of active dry yeast. This recipe makes a VERY large loaf, so I just cut the dough in half and then make two braided loaves from it. Excellent brioche. You must try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Lane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was an awesome hit at New Years. I made this bread, then my husband made french toast out of it. WOW! I received a bread machine as a gift and there were very few recipes listed so I went on line to find some. This is a great website and I have not found a bad recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made this recipe with the alterations others suggested, but think this recipe would be good with less sugar and yeast as well. It depends on whether you like your brioche sweet or eggy. Personally, I like it sweet enough to just eat, so the alterations worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States