French Breakfast Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
The entire family LOVES these. Recipe is wrong. Do *not* sift the 1/2 cup sugar in with the dry ingredients. Make sure it gets left out to cream with the shortening. These are moist and delicious and YUMMMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORTHWESTMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Instead of shortening, I used butter. I also used whole wheat white flour and buttermilk. When dropping them into the mini muffin tins, I used my small cookie scoop not only to make uniform sized muffins but it was just easier to make just the right amount for each muffin cup. I also used butter for the "dip" part, too. My family basically had these gone in a matter of seconds. Next time, I'll double the recipe and I think I'll add a little more spice when I make it and maybe some vanilla or maple flavoring to the "puff" part. NOTE: When you make these, be sure to watch them carefully as you reach the end of baking time. Mine were a bit overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
something's off with the sugar - recipe calls for 1/2c sugar which in step 2 is supposed to be added to the flour; and then you're supposed to cream sugar and shortening together. but you've already put the sugar into the flour -- so i dont know where the error is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
These definitely are delicious, slightly sweet, bite-sized treats! You might be tempted as I was to nibble on them on all day...! My husband just loved these with a nice cup of coffee. I used butter instead of shortening and I happen to like spices so I used 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg in these plus 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. The end result is a very light, moist, irresistable little treat that's easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Apsolutely deliciuos, they are so light and also light in cals. If you don't have nutmeg just put cinoman in it is just as good, i also made it as a cake as my friend did not have a muffin tin, just cook a little longer about 20-25 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I can see if left as is these would be bland. I made the recipe as is, except I did not have shoretning, I subed oil. ok folks.. make these as mini muffins and dip the whole muffin in the butter and roll in cin/sugar mix. You have a great treat. As a large muffin you are going to get bland, there is not enough spice in the batter to make these tasty. It kinda reminds you of a donut hole with cin/sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Great recipe, suggest using mini-muffin tins to maximize the cinnamon-sugar surface area to mass ratio. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My grandma used to make these when I was a little girl and they are still a favorite of mine after all these years. She would bake them in a cast iron muffin tin shaped like bears and then dip the whole muffin in butter and roll in the cinnamon and sugar mixture. I make them the same way, except I add a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the batter for additional flavor. Love these and the memories that come with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilsonville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I did also notice the mistake with the sugar, so I just added it to the shortening. They came out great! My husband ate them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
We made these in my 9th grade homemaking class-1972!!! I loved them then & now-thanks for sending the recipe. It brings back memories and my family loves them as well. Try these- you'll be glad you did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States