French Breakfast Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Yummy! My Mom used to make these. If you're substituting margarine for the shortening, (like me) be sure to cut the salt, or omit it altogether. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These were excellent. Substituted butter for shortening and margarine. Did regular size muffins, but I agree that mini would be better (I was too impatient for small batches).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I didn't like this recipe at all; thought it was bland and the muffins were heavy. The recipe for French Puff Muffins from Williams-Sonoma Muffin cookbook are made with buttermilk and must lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I loved these breakfast puffs. I have made them several times already and plan on making more in the future. Marcie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
These are very tasty even without rolling the entire muffin in the melted butter and cinnamon/sugar. And I read the reviews that had some confusion about where the sugar goes. The recipe is very clear about creaming the sugar and shortening together, not adding the sugar with the flour! And the second bit of sugar is mixed with cinnamon for the topping...I'm guessing either the recipe has changed or was not read very carefully at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloriouslight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
the breakfast puffs are sooo good! people needs to try them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Great recipe. As I read from other reviews the best is using the mini muffin pans and almost making what we call in Canada Timbits but in the States Donut holes. So very very good! Also I use icing sugar instead of regular white sugar! YUMMmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Wow! These are delicious!!! My kids can't get enough of them...and they're so easy! This will become a breakfast favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
These were yummy. I made 24 mini-muffins and ate about six of them before they made the plate. I will try some add-ins, like banana or strawberry next. Thanks for bringing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrMomz
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Have loved these since childhood. Thanks for posting this! To reduce glycemic impact a bit, I used 1/4 C Splenda and 1/4 C agave syrup in muffins, and reduced milk slightly to compensate for the extra liquid. I also doubled the nutmeg (by accident, but it turned out well. I will do this again.) Consider turning down heat to 300 in last 10 minutes because agave browns quickly. Agave syrup makes the muffins wonderfully delicate and golden inside, and moister than the Splenda by itself. For cinnamon/sugar topping, we always use a Tablespoon of the cinnamon instead of a teaspoon. Highly recommend McCormick's Saigon Cinnamon. I used another sweetener blend, this time half regular sugar and half stevia-based granulated sweetener, to mix with the cinnamon. Very happy with results. Next time I will try 1/3 cup whole wheat flour and 2/3 white flour to see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States